History of Central Washington University

Central Washington University
Special Collections

The following represent only a small portion of our collections, and does not represent all of the subject strengths of our collections
Please remember that the listed titles are only those in Special Collections-- many other sources can be found in our collections including the Washington State Normal School Collection of the second floor of the library.

If you would like to find out more about items in Special Collections or have a specific reference question, please email us at archive@cwu.edu.

Sixteen of the First 100 Books Purchased for the Washington State Normal School Library Still Remaining in the Collection

• Book #50. Arnott, Neil. Elements of Physics, or Natural Philosophy . London: Longman and Rees 1828. QC21 A7 1828
• Book #76. Comstock, J. L. A System of Natural Philosophy. New York: D. Appleton, 1897. QC23 C75 1837
• Book #70. Dresser, Horatio. The Power of Silence . New York: G. P. Putnam's Sons, 1899. BF639 D7 1899
• Book #45. Everett , J. D. Elementary treatise on natural philosophy : based on the Traité de physique of A. Privat-Deschanel. New York: D. Appleton, 1897. QC21 D4 1897
• Book #73. Harris, George. Inequality and Progress. New York: Houghton Mifflin, 1897. HM146 H3
• Book #74.Hudson, Thomson Jay. The Law of Psychic Phenomena . Chicago: A. C. McClurg, 1898. BF1031 .H86 1898
• Book #58. Huxley, Thomas. Physiography . New York: Macmillan, 1897. GB54 H9 1897
• Book #75. Krusi, Herman. Life of Pestalozzi . New York: American Book Company, 1875.  LB627 K9
• Book #92. Olmstead, Denison. An Introduction to Natural Philosophy, Designed as a Text Book . New York: Collins, Brother and Co., 1844. QC21 .O5 1844
• Book #61. Thurston, Robert. Heat as a Form of Energy . New York: Houghton Mifflin, 1890. QC257 .T54
• Book #56. Tyndall, John. Forms of Water. New York: D. Appleton, 1872. QE576 T97 1872a
• Book #50. Tyndall, John. Lessons in Electricity. New York: D. Appleton, 1898. LT305 T83
• Book #51. Tyndall, John. Light and Electricity . New York: D. Appleton, 1895. QC361 .T98 1895
• Book #52. Tyndall, John. On Sound . New York: D. Appleton, 1897. QC225 T99
• Book #49. Waldo, Frank. Modern Meteorology . New York: Scribner, 1894. QC855 W3

The Brooks Library of Central Washington University is pleased to debut a variety of new Digital Collections from our Library Archives and Special Collections. We have a number of publicly available collections that highlight the history, nature and culture of Central Washington University and the greater central Washington region, as well as one collection highlighting the history and art of manuscript illumination. We welcome the public to visit our new Archives and Special Collections on the Library's Second Floor.

The Archives and Special Collections at Brooks Library has many collections relevant to the history of Central Washington University. To see summaries of these collections, please check the following guides, which are organized alphabetically by department or administrative unit (for instance, Board of Directors, English department, etc.). For further assistance or to use a collection, please contact the Archives.