Skip to main content
Ask the Libraries

History of Central Washington University

Archival Photos, Digital Archives, and more.

Early Central Washington University Textbooks

Central Washington University
Special Collections

The following represent only a small portion of our collections, and does not represent all of the subject strengths of our collections
Please remember that the listed titles are only those in Special Collections-- many other sources can be found in our collections including the Washington State Normal School Collection of the second floor of the library.

If you would like to find out more about items in Special Collections or have a specific reference question, please email us at archive@cwu.edu.

Sixteen of the First 100 Books Purchased for the Washington State Normal School Library Still Remaining in the Collection

Digital Collections

The Brooks Library of Central Washington University is pleased to debut a variety of new Digital Collections from our Library Archives and Special Collections. We have a number of publicly available collections that highlight the history, nature and culture of Central Washington University and the greater central Washington region, as well as one collection highlighting the history and art of manuscript illumination. We welcome the public to visit our new Archives and Special Collections on the Library's Second Floor.

Archival Collections

The Archives and Special Collections at Brooks Library has many collections relevant to the history of Central Washington University. To see summaries of these collections, please check the following guides, which are organized alphabetically by department or administrative unit (for instance, Board of Directors, English department, etc.). For further assistance or to use a collection, please contact the Archives.