Biological Sciences

Dedicated to amphibian biology and conservation. Includes the ability to search photos, and to browse more than 6,900 species lists and more than 23,000 photos.

This database from the University of Michigan contains thousands of species accounts, including natural history, taxonomy, and distribution data. The site contains extensive information on habitat, geographic range, behavior, reproduction, food habits, predation, and more. Includes many excellent illustrations and photographs.

This site from the Department of Entomology at Iowa State University serves as a comprehensive clearinghouse for identifying insects in the United States and Canada. Information includes but is not limited to species and related names, species counts, size, identification tips, range, habitat, life cycles, print and Internet references, and links to works cited to build each entry.

Guide to taxonomy and classification compiled from 115 taxonomic databases from around the world. The site currently contains over 1,300,000 species. Users can search by common and scientific name or by geographic distribution, or browse by taxonomic tree or classification.

Database of species worldwide contains over 32,000 species, 295,000 common names, and 50,000 photographs. Individual species records hold a wealth of data: worldwide habitat maps; excellent photographic images; classification and name information; environment; species range and climate; distribution; description; authoritative references; and brief biological discussion.

Established in 2001 to open access to global biodiversity data, and comprised of over 80 participant countries and organizations. Contains over 300,000,000 indexed records from over 8,000 datasets and 379 publishers. Search or browse by species, country or data set.

Contains millions of animal names, both fossil and recent, at all taxonomic ranks, reported from the scientific literature. Entries include basic nomenclatural and hierarchical information.

Collaborative effort of five U.S. agencies -- the Departments of Commerce, Agriculture, Interior, EPA, and the Smithsonian - to improve access to reliable information on species names and their hierarchical classification. Includes taxonomic information on over 500,000 plants, animals, fungi, and microbe of both terrestrial and aquatic habitats.

This international network of biological inventories consists of natural heritage programs or conservation data centers that operate in all 50 U.S. states, Canada, Latin America, and the Caribbean.

search or browse by a range of categories, from Least Concern to Extinct in the Wild, and Extinct and also limit by a broad range of criteria including taxonomy, location, habitats, and more. Individual records contain extensive taxonomy, assessment, and threats information, as well as descriptions of geographic range, range maps, and habitat and ecology data.