LibGuides: Biological Sciences: Find Journal Articles

OneSearch

OneSearch is a single search interface that allows patrons to simultaneously search several article databases, catalogs, and other data sources for books, journal articles, videos, scores, maps, and more!

NOTE: Some OneSearch journal article results are index only (not full text). Searching specific databases will often provide full text of articles identified by OneSearch.

EXTRA NOTE: Make sure you are logged into OneSearch. Otherwise you will only be able to see the items but not access them!

Some Databases Recommended for Biology

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.

Agricola
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete back issues of over 600 core scholarly journals in the natural and applied sciences, as well as the arts, humanities, and the social sciences.

NCBI Databases
A free search and retrieval system that integrates information from databases at the National Center for Biotechnology Information, including PubMed Central and MEDLINE.

PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed searches millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It includes access to MEDLINE® and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is Elsevier’s platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. It contains indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents for over 2,500 journals and over 35,000 ebooks. Full text access is available for those titles to which CWU subscribes.
SpringerLink
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of journal articles back to 1999 from over 800 journals in the theoretical and applied sciences, technology and medicine, and other disciplines.
Web of Science - Science Citation Index Expanded
Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully covers major journals across 178 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Coverage: 1995-present
Wiley Online Library
Full text of journal articles back to 1997 from journals in science and technology, as well as other disciplines.