PIVOT (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities)
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations. PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.
You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen. Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT. For more information, please see: Pivot Video Tutorials.
Note: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission. If an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required," please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying.
Who's Who in Military History: From 1453 to the Present Day
Print Location: Ref U51 K43 1976
The authors begin with 1453 because, as they see it, this was the start of war with cannons and not just personal firearms. The biographies are arranged alphabetically, not chronologically, and there are great illustrations and photographs of some of these military leaders. There is a glossary and a number of maps at the end.
Comprehensive set of links to establishments of the United States and international military, police and intelligence community.
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents.
USA.gov - Official Government Web Portal
USA.gov is the U.S. government web portal to all federal, state, tribal, and local government web resources and services. USA.gov is intended to help people navigate government information, procedures, and policies.
Through USA.gov you can apply for benefits online (including grants), contact a government agency or department, or use the most comprehensive search of government websites. You can also search for Government Publications, for information specifically relevant to you, and for contact information for government employees and officials.
Book Index with Reviews
Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 5 million book titles. BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from some of the most trusted reviewers: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and the New York Times Book Review.
Fiction and non-fiction book titles are included in the database, in all genres, to help you find books to read for fun, for information, or for research. BIR’s subject headings/genres and flexible search engine can help you find out about popular titles that are currently available, along with those that will soon be published or released.
The FedStats website, plainly and simply, enables you to search for and link to more than 95 agencies that provide data and trend information:
The Human Security Report (2005) is a report published by Oxford University Press and also available online. It is a study done by the Human Security Centre (at that time located at the University of British Columbia) which surveys trends in all forms of political violence (except international terrorism). Findings show that there has a been a decrease since the decline of the Cold War.
Ask CWU Libraries