LibGuides: Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies: Books, Databases, and more

The materials listed on this page are meant to highlight the diverse offerings available at CWU Libraries. If you would like help finding more materials on a specific subject matter, please email or schedule an appointment with a CWU Librarian.

CWU Libraries Collection

Books at Brooks

Before We Were Trans by Kit Heyam
Publication Date: 2022
Illuminates the stories of people across the globe, from antiquity to the present, whose experiences of gender have defied binary categories.
Career and Family by Claudia Goldin
Publication Date: 2021
A renowned economic historian traces women’s journey to close the gender wage gap and sheds new light on the continued struggle to achieve equity between couples at home
He/She/They by Schuyler Bailar
Publication Date: 2023
Addresses fundamental topics, from why being transgender is not a choice and why pronouns are important, to more complex issues including how gender-affirming healthcare can be lifesaving.
The Little Book of LGBTQ+ by Harriet Dyer
Publication Date: 2022
This easy-to-use dictionary introduces the most essential vocabulary surrounding LGBTQ+ identities.
The Queer Turn in Feminism by Anne Emmanuelle Berger
Publication Date: 2013
A leading Franco-American scholar traces differences and intersections in the development of gender and queer theories on both sides of the Atlantic.
Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity, and the Law in a Nutshell by Ruth Colker
Publication Date: 2016
Presents an overview of legal topics relating to sexual orientation, gender identity and the law. Topics covered include: regulation of sexuality, gender identity and expression, parenthood, marriage, U.S. military, nondiscrimination statutes and ordinances, religious freedom, etc.
Voices for transgender equality : making change in the networked public sphere
Publication Date: 2024
Offers an insider's view into transgender activism during the first two years of the Trump administration. Shows how activists developed a blend of online and offline strategies to saturate a diverse ecology of national news outlets, local and community media outlets, and public and private conversations across multiple social media platforms with voices in support of their cause.
WE Matter! Intersectional Anti-racist Feminist Interventions with Black Girls by Wendi S. Williams (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
Engages a conversation at the intersection of the fields of education and psychology among recognized Black women scholars that contemporizes the discourse about Black women’s and girls’ diversity, their sociocultural contexts, and various approaches to communal and clinical work with them to support their mental health, wellness, and thrivance.
Women on the River of Life by Ravenna M. Helson; Valory Mitchell
Publication Date: 2020
Commenced in 1958 with 142 young women who were seniors at Mills College, the Mills Study has become the largest and longest longitudinal study of women’s personality and adult development.

Ebooks

Angels in the Machinery by Rebecca Edwards
Publication Date: 1997
Angels in the Machinery offers a sweeping analysis of the centrality of gender to politics in the United States from the days of the Whigs to the early twentieth century.
Before Lawrence V. Texas by Wesley G. Phelps
Publication Date: 2023
In 2003 the US Supreme Court overturned anti-sodomy laws across the country, ruling in Lawrence v. Texas that the Constitution protects private consensual sex between adults. Before Lawrence v. Texas tells the story of the long, troubled, and ultimately hopeful road to constitutional change.
Changing Woman by Karen Anderson
Publication Date: 1996
Karen Anderson offers the first book to examine the lives of women in the three main ethnic groups in the United States--Native American, Mexican American, and African American women--revealing the many ways in which these groups have suffered oppression, and the profound effects it has had on their lives.
A Companion to Global Gender History by Teresa A. Meade (Editor); Merry E. Wiesner-Hanks (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
Examines the history of women over thousands of years, studies their interaction with men in a gendered world, and looks at the role of gender in shaping human behavior. It includes thematic essays that offer a broad foundation for key issues such as family, labor, sexuality, race, and material culture, followed by essays stretching from the earliest human societies to the contemporary period.
Feminisms in Movement: Theories and Practices from the Americas by Lívia De Souza Lima (Editor); Edith Otero Quezada (Editor); Julia Roth (Editor)
Publication Date: 2024
Feminist movements from the Americas provide innovative, visible, and all-encompassing forms of organizing and resistance. With their diverse backgrounds, these movements address sexism, sexualized violence, misogyny, racism, homo- and transphobia, coloniality, extractivism, climate crisis, and neoliberal capitalist exploitation as well as the interrelations of these systems.
The Unfinished Revolution by Kathleen Gerson
Publication Date: 2011
The vast changes in family life - the rise of single, same-sex, and two-paycheck parents - have often been blamed for declining morality and unhappy children. Drawing upon pioneering research with the children of the gender revolution, Kathleen Gerson reveals that it is not a lack of family values, but rigid social and economic forces that make it difficult to live out those values.
Weaving the Past by Susan Kellog
Publication Date: 2023
Provides broad coverage of gender roles in native Latin America over many centuries, drawing upon a range of evidence from archaeology, anthropology, religion, and politics. Primary and secondary sources include chronicles, codices, newspaper articles, and monographic work on specific regions.

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Databases

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part 1 & 2
Archives of Sexuality & Gender program modules one and two includes historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals, publications by and for lesbians and gays, extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis, personal correspondence and interviews with LGBTQ individuals, international gay/lesbian newspapers. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950-1990.
Defining Gender
This collection provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective. **Stellingwerf gift purchase
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, and the struggle for women's rights, from the 19th century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men's movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
LGBT Thought and Culture
An online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
MEDLINE [EBSCOHost]
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed searches millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It includes access to MEDLINE® and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Sex and Sexuality
This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts. Includes access to Module I: Research Collections from The Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections and Module II: Self-Expression, Community and Identity. Users will be prompted to confirm that they are over the age of consent to access this resource. Please be aware that this resource contains material of a sexually explicit nature. **Stellingwerf gift purchase

Enclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by Marc Stein
ISBN: 0684314274
Publication Date: 2004
A three-volume survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others. For students, researchers, and general readers.
Encyclopedia of Women in American History by Joyce Appleby; Eileen Chang; Neva Goodwin
ISBN: 1315704692
Publication Date: 2015
This illustrated encyclopedia examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present. It not only covers the issues that have had an impact on women, but also traces the influence of women's achievements on society as a whole. Divided into three chronologically arranged volumes, the set includes historical surveys and thematic essays on central issues and political changes affecting women's lives during each period.
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History by Howard Chiang
ISBN: 9780684325545
Publication Date: 2019
A three-volume set, The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History (Charles Scribner's Sons) will provide a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide. Wide-ranging in scope, this encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, literature, psychology, sociology and others. This title is being created under an international editorial board, led by Howard Chiang (University of California, Davis).
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by Bonnie G. Smith (Editor)
ISBN: 0195148908
Publication Date: 2008
This encyclopedia captures the experiences of women throughout world history and illuminates how they have influenced and been influenced by these historical, social, and demographic changes. It contains over 1,300 signed articles covering six main areas: biographies; geography and history; comparative culture and society; organizations and movements; womens and gender studies; and topics in world history.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by Abbie E. Goldberg (Editor)
ISBN: 1483371301
Publication Date: 2016
This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic.

Atlantis: A Women's Studies Journal
Atlantis is a scholarly research journal devoted to critical work in a variety of formats that reflects current scholarship and approaches to the discipline of Women's and Gender Studies. It incorporates a diversity of feminist, anti-racist and critical identity, intersectional, transnational, and cultural studies approaches to a wide range of contemporary issues, topics, and knowledges.
Gender Issues
Gender Issues is an multidisciplinary journal focusing on gender and gender equity in various contexts.
International Journal of Transgender Health
International Journal of Transgender Health, together with its partner organization the World Professional Association for Transgender Health (WPATH), offers an international, multidisciplinary scholarly forum for publication in the field of transgender health in its broadest sense for academics, practitioners, policy makers, and the general population.
Journal of Gay & Lesbian Social Services
Journal of Gay & Lesbian Social Services publishes research that provides empirical knowledge and conceptual information related to sexual minorities and their social environment.
Journal of Gender Studies
The Journal of Gender Studies is a global peer-reviewed journal that showcases original research on gender for an interdisciplinary readership. JGS publishes critical, innovative and high-quality scholarly work in gender studies that engages with the wide-ranging thinkers and movements that constitute feminist, queer and transgender theory.
Journal of Research in Gender Studies
The Journal of Research in Gender Studies is a peer-reviewed bilingual interdisciplinary journal that aims to publish critical and theoretical constructive contributions across the large spectrum of humanities literature, law, history, philosophy, religion, and visual and performing arts (including music and theatre), anthropology, area studies, communication studies, cultural studies, and linguistics, social sciences, behavioral sciences, medicine and public health, science and technology, democracy studies, women's studies, men and masculinity studies, queer studies.
Law & Sexuality: A Review of Lesbian & Gay Legal Issues
Law & Sexuality is the first and only student-edited law review in the country devoted solely to covering legal issues of interest to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community on a wide variety of subjects, including constitutional, employment, family, health, insurance, and military law. The Journal addresses all of these issues and more with theoretical and practical articles by academicians, practitioners, and students.
Studies in Gender and Sexuality
Studies in Gender and Sexuality is one of the leading journals in the transdisciplinary field of gender and sexuality studies. Situated at the interface of psychoanalysis and social/cultural theory, it aims to further our understanding of how we live, theorize and transform genders and sexualities.
Transgender Health
This journal is dedicated to delivering authoritative, peer-reviewed research and clinical studies focused exclusively on meeting the healthcare needs of transgender individuals throughout their lifespan.