Here you will find some general resources for conducting research in Asian Studies. For more specific primary and secondary sources, recommended books, and more take a look at the region-specific resources for Asian Studies.
With overview essays and more than 400 A-Z entries, this exhaustive encyclopedia documents the history of Asians in America from earliest contact to the present day. Organized topically by group, with an in-depth overview essay on each group, the encyclopedia examines the myriad ethnic groups and histories that make up the Asian American population in the United States.
A collection of articles that survey the full scope of Asian history, discussing major historical events and periods from Bronze Age China to modern India, looking at the geography of the continent, profiling over 1,200 influential men and women, and examining aspects of Asian culture and society.
Nearly 700 contributors from around the world, including 25 Asian countries, provide 3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia and also the flow of people, goods and ideas within Asia and globally.
Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture contains thirty-two chronologies on individual countries throughout the countries of Asia—East, South, Southeast, and Central—from the Paleolithic era through 1998.
Access World News Research Collection is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles, and newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
Contains over 250 plays, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late 19th century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.
This collection of digitized primary sources documents migration from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe, and Asia to North America and Australasia. Time period covered is the 19th through the 21st century. Material types are varied, and they include correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, travel logs, maps, sketches, photographs, shipping papers, government papers, and immigration documents. **Stellingwerf gift purchase
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
**Tullis Endowment purchase
The ProQuest platform makes hundreds of Full text and A&I (Abstracts & Indexes) collections available to researchers around the world. The ProQuest Platform hosts multidisciplinary content containing scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more.
Through a selection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. Note: The content in this database can also be found by searching Academic Video Online.
Academic Video Online (AVOn), searchable as part of the ProQuest One Academic database on the ProQuest platform, makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.