LibGuides: Leisure Reading, Listening, and Watching: Watching

Video Databases

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press platform) Academic Video Online (AVOn) on the Alexander Street (a ProQuest company) platform is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Academic Video Online (ProQuest platform) Academic Video Online (AVOn), searchable as part of the ProQuest One Academic database on the ProQuest platform, makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.
Asian Film Online (Alexander Street) Through a selection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. Note: The content in this database can also be found by searching Academic Video Online.
Documentary Educational Resources (DER) Premium Documentary Educational Resources (DER) is the premier source for classic and contemporary ethnographic films, which explore modern cultural struggles and artistic traditions and offer a longitudinal view of changing communities, cultures and identities. DER Premium provides the most comprehensive access to the DER streaming collection.
Films On Demand Video Collection Access to individual streaming video titles. Technical Requirements for PC users OS: Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, or later versions. Browser: IE 6.0+ or Mozilla Firefox 2.0 or higher. Media Player: Adobe Flash Player 9.0+; Windows Media Player 9.0+; QuickTime Player 6.0+.
Indigenous Cinema The National Film Board (NFB) of Canada has compiled 200 indigenous-made films and made them accessible by online streaming free of charge. Films can be searched by title, director or subject.
Met Opera on Demand Offers users access to more than 700 full-length Met performances, including stunning HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. The site and its content are fully accessible on most mobile devices.
National Theatre Collection National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
PBS LearningMedia PBS LearningMedia provides PreK-12 educators with access to free digital content and professional development opportunities designed to improve teacher effectiveness and student achievement.
PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition This collection provides streaming access to more than 1,200 documentaries and series from PBS. Subjects range from science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more. Highlights include Frontline, NOVA, Nature, American Experience, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
- This link opens in a new window
Visual History Archive (VHA) The USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive is a fully streaming video collection of more than 55,000 primary source testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other crimes against humanity. The largest archive of its kind, history is preserved as told by the people who lived it, with each testimony offering unique insight and knowledge rarely available in traditional content. The vast majority of the testimonies contain a complete personal history of life before, during, and after the interviewee’s firsthand experience with genocide. Note: Users are encouraged to establish a free account for use of any “My Projects/Bookmarked Projects/Shared Projects” features.

Open Access (Free!) Video Content

PBS - Public Broadcasting Service

Many PBS programs have extensive internet resources that supplement their broadcast. In addition, the Frontline website includes complete streaming versions of over fifty titles from the last four years as well as Frontline "classics".

Kanopy -perhaps available through your public library

Kanopy Streaming Services

In addition to CWU's Kanopy subscription, your public library might have its own Kanopy subscription with access to more popular and entertainment videos. Kanopy provides each participating public library and university with a dedicated and customizable website through which members can stream films. The service includes features such as captions, transcripts, clip creation, and playlist creation that allow users to share videos.