GEOG 458 - People, Parks, & Protected Areas

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)

• National Agricultural Library - AGRICOLA: a database from NAL which cites most agricultural publications (books and articles).
• US Forest Service is “entrusted with 193 million acres of national forests and grasslands. We are dedicated to the improvement of water resources, development of climate change resiliency, creation of jobs that will sustain communities and restoration and enhancement of landscapes.”

1. Forest Inventory and Analysis (FIA) Program provides the information needed to assess America's forests. FIA reports on status and trends in forest area and location; in the species, size, and health of trees; in total tree growth, mortality, and removals by harvest; in wood production and utilization rates by various products; and in forest land ownership.
2. Forest Insects and Disease Leaflets – listed alphabetically, by leaflet number, by scientific name for pathogens or insects, and the Eastern and the Western regional titles. There's also a complete citation list.
3. iTree is a state-of-the-art, peer-reviewed software suite from the USDA Forest Service that provides urban forestry analysis and benefits assessment tools. The i-Tree tools help communities of all sizes to strengthen their urban forest management and advocacy efforts by quantifying the structure of community trees and the environmental services that trees provide.
4. TreeSearch is an online system for locating and delivering public domain publications by Research and Development scientists in the US Forest Service. Publications in the collection include research monographs published by the agency as well as papers written by our scientists but published by other organizations in their journals, conference proceedings, or books.

U.S. Department of the Interior (DOI)

• Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
  • BLM Library
  • Cultural resource series (in order by state)
  • Technical Notes
  • Technical References
  • History Timeline of the BLM
  • Maps
  • Opportunity & Challenge: The Story of the BLM
  • Public Land Statistics

• Fish & Wildlife Service (FWS)
  • Climate Change
  • Endangered Species
  • Geospatial Services
  • Historic Preservation
  • Invasive Species
  • Landscape Conservation Cooperative Network
  • National Wildlife Refuge System
  • Strategic Habitat Conservation

• National Parks Service (NPS)
  • Cultural Landscapes
  • Cultural Research Reports
  • Historical Handbook series (Series by cover)
  • Individual Park Histories (Government Publications has these also in Braille but of course, not online)
  • National Parks Index, 2012-2016; NPS National Parks Index Addendum, 2016-2017
  • National Park Service Administrative History: A Guide (2004 ed.) which includes bibliography of administrative histories, listings of records at National Archives.
  • NPS Stats (National Reports), 1979-present (includes Annual Park Ranking Report, Annual Visitation Summary Report, Park Acreage Reports, Recreation Visitation by State and by Park)
  • NPS Planning, Environment and Public Comment (PEPC)
  • Publications
  • Publications of the National Register of Historic Places
  • System & Park Guide
  • Visitor Use statistics

Library of Congress

• American Memory - WPA Posters: Searching the term "parks" in this collection reveals dozens of classic promotional illustrations for sites around the country.
• Mapping the National Parks: A collection of over 200 maps of sites that would eventually become national parks, from the 1700s - present, from the Library of Congress.
• GAO Reports and Testimonies: Government Accountability Office (GAO) which researches and writes reports to Congress on a variety of topics.  Search their database by using the terms such as "Natural Resources and Environment" or by keywords such as National Parks" in quotations so it will look for these terms as a phrase rather than individual words.
• National Wild and Scenic River System - an interagency council to address administration of our wild and scenic rivers created by Congress in 1993.