Each issue of CQ Magazine looks forward and back. Readers get in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is noted for its award-winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications.
A searchable directory of Internet legal resources.
Gallagher Law Library at the University of Washington brings you guides to legal research on every topic, or very close to it. These very helpful guides are thorough and understandable.
A site for many aspects of U.S. law, including the U.S. constitution, federal legislation, U.S. Code, public laws, federal and state courts and other types of legal information. These research guides provide a starting point for researching legal topics and recommend relevant materials in the Law Library's collections and online.
Provides access to online legal resources in federal, state and world law. Links are provided for the Constitution, U.S. Code, the C.F.R., the U.C.C. and Supreme Court cases, uniform laws and federal rules.
Oyez (pronounced OH-yay)—a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law—is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout the Court’s history and offers a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of several justices.
Provides access to current federal legislation, the Congressional Record, House and Senate bills and resolutions, public laws, roll call votes, treaties, the U.S. Code, appropriations legislation, presidential nominations and more.
Provides general information on the USSC, including guidelines manuals and amendments, reports to congress, hearing transcripts and testimony as well as federal sentencing statistics organized by state and circuit courts.
Provides access to the text of the Revised Code (RCW), the Administrative Code (WAC) as well as state legislation session laws (1997-) and the WA state register (1998-).An option for searching the text of bills, the RCW, WAC and the State Register is available.
These select organizations can be a good source of articles, statistics, best practices, guideleines, standards, news, and points of perspective in law enforcement:
An extensive list of legal research resources at Brooks Library is provided by our Government Publications Department.
Ask CWU Libraries