It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal articles are important sources of information in many majors. Your professor will tell you whether or not you are required to read peer-reviewed journal articles as part of your assignment.
This video from the Peabody Library at Vanderbilt University explains the difference between scholarly and popular periodicals, and describes the peer-review process.
What is Peer-Reviewed?
Most journal articles are research studies written by college professors. When a professor submits a manuscript of an article to a journal, that manuscript is "peer-reviewed" before it is accepted for publication.
Before a manuscript is accepted for publication, the journal's editor sends it to other professors for comment and review. The reviewers typically say:
·Publish the manuscript as an article in the journal - OR -
·Reject the manuscript and send it back to the author - OR -
·Contact the author and ask for changes before publication.
In most cases, the process of peer review is "blind". The author does not know who has been asked to review the manuscript, and the author is not identified to the peer reviewers. Ideally, blind review ensures that the critique will be fair and unbiased.
We are an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals. Our journals span all areas of biology, medicine and health, including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Malaria Journal and BMC Infectious Diseases.
All original research articles we publish are made freely accessible online immediately upon publication. Authors retain the copyright to their work, licensing it under the Creative Commons Attribution License which allows articles to be re-used and re-distributed without restriction, as long as the original work is correctly cited.
PubMed lets you search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences
OneSearch can help you get started with finding journal articles but we suggest filling in your results by checking directly in appropriate article databases. Some databases are not currently indexed in OneSearch and still must be searched directly.
The following is a list of suggested databases for your class emphasis. You can also find these databases by scrolling down in this alphabetical list.
ScienceDirect is Elsevier’s platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. It contains indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents for over 2,500 journals and over 35,000 ebooks. Full text access is available for those titles to which CWU subscribes.