LibGuides: Primate Behavior and Ecology: Recommended Websites

Primate Info Net

Primate Info Net (PIN) is the best freely available general online resource for links and original content about nonhuman primates. Maintained by the Lawrence Jacobsen Library of the National Primate Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the site combines original content with links to outside sources to provide comprehensive information about primate anatomy, physiology, ecology, and conservation; veterinary information; and education/career-related material. Please note funding for this project was discontinued in 2013, and information identified after that time is not included.

Primate Info Net factsheets
Provides fact sheets for a variety of nonhuman primates.
Primate Info Net careers resources
Information about careers in primatology.

Frequently used websites

American Association of Zoos and Aquaria
Founded in 1924, the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA) is a nonprofit 501c(3) organization dedicated to the advancement of zoos and aquariums in the areas of conservation, education, science, and recreation.
Arkive
Contains videos and pictures of primates and other animals, most of which are accurately identified.
Chimpanzee Sanctuary Northwest
Chimpanzee Sanctuary Northwest (CSNW) is one of only a handful of sanctuaries in the country that cares for chimpanzees. CSNW was founded in 2003 to provide sanctuary for chimpanzees discarded from the entertainment and biomedical testing industries.
Fauna Foundation
The primary objective of the Fauna Foundation is to create a protected environment for neglected, abused farm and domestic animals and former biomedical research chimpanzees.
Jane Goodall Institute
The JGI mission includes improving global understanding and treatment of great apes through research, public education and advocacy, and contributing to the preservation of great apes and their habitats by combining conservation with education and promotion of sustainable livelihoods in local communities.
The Nash Collection of Primates in Art and Illustration
The Nash Collection is a collaboration between Stephen Nash, Scientific Illustrator and Adjunct Associate Professor at the State University of New York at Stony Brook, who compiled images for the collection, and staff of the Lawrence Jacobsen Library at the Wisconsin National Primate Research Center, University of Wisconsin.
North American Primate Sanctuary Alliance
The mission of NAPSA is to advance and advocate for the welfare of captive primates.
Orangutan Foundation International
OFI is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the conservation of wild orangutans and their rainforest habitat.
Red List of Threatened and Endangered Species
The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on plants, fungi and animals that have been globally evaluated using the IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria.
Smithsonian Museum of Natural History 3D collection of primates and other animals
The purpose of this collection is to allow you to view many of the primate and other skeletons housed in our museum's collections. All of these specimens were CT scanned, which enabled us to generate 3D models that you can view, rotate, and interact with online.
World Conservation Union Primate Specialist Group
The Primate Specialist Group is a network of scientists and conservationists who stand against the tide of extinction which threatens humanity’s closest kin.