Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

World Languages and Cultures

The World Languages Department offers majors in French, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish and minors in American Sign Language, Chinese, French, German, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish. Occasionally they offer classes in additional study such as Latin.

Atlases & Maps

This title now includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. It is part of a suite of reference materials available through the subscription database Oxford Reference Online.

 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

MDBG Chinese-English Dictionary
The free MDBG online Chinese-language learning site includes a powerful online Chinese-English dictionary that accepts English, pinyin (transliterated Roman), and both Simplified and Traditional Chinese characters (to search using Pinyin directly from the main search box enter the prefix “p:” before entering the Pinyin).   Dictionary search results feature audio pronunciation, Pinyin, Simplified and Traditional Chinese versions, radicals, stroke order, and links to online flash cards that you can flip through to learn new characters.  There are also advanced search options allowing the inclusion or exclusion of certain characters from search results, and also searching in Pinyin.

The character dictionary contains information about single Chinese characters.  
 
 Oxford Reference Online