LibGuides: Mathematics: General resources

Books

To find books on mathematics at Brooks Library, try searching under some of these subject headings in OneSearch. Or search by keyword, author, title, and more.

Mathematics
Algebra
Biomathematics
Business mathematics
Curves
Economics, mathematical
Ethnomathematics
Functions
Game theory
Measurement

Databases and websites

MathGuide
The MathGuide is an Internet-based subject gateway to scholarly relevant information in mathematics, located at the Lower Saxony State- and University Library, Göttingen (Germany).
Strategian
This database points to information in the sciences and mathematics. It also provides citations to important articles, books, and documents published before 1969.

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.

Handbooks and Encyclopedias

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics: Print Location: Ref QA5 .W45 2003. This encyclopedia provides definitions, formulas and derivations, figures, tables, and resources for further research. A version is available online.

CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae (31st Edition): Print Location: Ref QA47 .M315 2003. This book covers topics like analysis of numbers, algebra, discrete math, geometry, continuous mathematics, special functions, probability and statistics, scientific computing, and financial analysis.

Facts on File Calculus Handbook: Print Location: Ref QA303.2 M36 2003. This book is intended for use by middle school, high school and college students taking single-variable calculus.

Facts on File Geometry Handbook: Print Location: Ref QA445.2 G67 2003. This book provides a basic introduction to geometry.

Mathworld: This website, best described as a mathematics encyclopedia, provides information on a variety of subjects: algebra, applied math, calculus, discrete math, the foundations of math, geometry, math history and terminology, number theory, probability and statistics, recreational math, and topology.

Oxford Reference Online: This resource provides quality, up-to-date information from a series of well-respected books, including books on mathematics.