Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

Hanford Nuclear Site

For those researching the history of Hanford Nuclear Site, this guide suggests resources at Brooks Library and elsewhere in the Pacific Northwest.

Archival collections

Brock Adams Papers, 1947-1998. University of Washington Libraries, Special Collections:
Brock Adams was a liberal Democrat who served in both houses of the U.S. Congress and as Secretary of Transportation under President Jimmy Carter. An environmental conservationist, Adams made the Hanford Nuclear Reservation a key topic in his political career.

Henry M. Jackson Papers, 1912-1987. University of Washington Libraries, Special Collections:
A Democratic Congressman and Senator for Washington state, Henry M. Jackson served on the Joint Atomic Energy Committee. In this role, he encouraged the construction of an atomic plant at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation to power industrial development in the Tri-Cities area.

Glenn Lee Papers, 1906-1992. Washington State University Libraries. Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections:
Publisher of the Tri-City Herald, Glenn Lee used his position to encourage construction of a Hanford steam plant and atom smasher, and to lobby against closure of Hanford's nuclear reactors. Lee was one of the founders of the Tri-City Nuclear Council, which was formed in 1963 to promote economic growth and development in the Tri-Cities.

Warren Grant Magnuson Papers, 1918-1989. University of Washington Libraries, Special Collections:
As a lawyer, U.S. Representative, and Senator from 1945 to 1980, Warren G. Magnuson became involved in issues pertaining to the presence and use of nuclear facilities at the Hanford site.

Barkev Sanders Papers, 1947-1990
. Washington State University Libraries. Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections:
This collection pertains to the Hanford mortality study in which Barkev Sanders was a participant from 1964 to 1976.


Records of the Atomic Energy Commission. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA): 
Congress established the Atomic Energy Commission in 1946 to manage peace-time uses of nuclear energy. The records of the Atomic Energy Commission, described here, are held by the National Archives and Records Administration.