Established in 2005, the Central Washington University Archives & Special Collections is the repository for official and unofficial records, dedicated to housing, preserving, and promoting our region's histories. Collections with the CWU Archives and Special Collections include university archives, regional history, special collections, digital collections and more.
Interested in exploring these collections? The CWU Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the James E. Brooks Library on the Ellensburg campus. When school is in session, the CWU Archives and Special Collections are open from 10-3 on weekdays and by appointment.
The Retirement Association Interviews feature former Central Washington University faculty, staff, and Board of Trustees members. These interviews were conducted by the Central Washington University Retirement Association (CWURA), which was founded in 1990 “to facilitate the mission and goals of the University and provide for continuing professional, educational and social activities of retired University personnel.” Interviewing began in 1995 and continues into the present. Each CWURA interviewee answered questions about personal background, education and experiences at CWU.
The following interviews include past library deans, faculty, staff, and supporters.
More Retirement Association Interviews can be found on ScholarWorks:
https://digitalcommons.cwu.edu/cwura_interviews/
If you are a CWU retiree or alumni and are interested in recording an oral history interview, please reach out to the CWU Archives and Special Collections at archive@cwu.edu or 509-963-1717.
The year 2021 will be remembered as a year of social distancing, staying home, facial coverings, and Zoom. It was also a historic time that the CWU Archives wanted to document for future researchers to learn from. This project included oral history interviews and donations of creative works created during the pandemic.
The following interviews feature the library dean during the pandemic and a library staff member.
| Rebecca Lubas on Brooks Library during COVID |
| Carlos Pelley |
More COVID Reflections can be found on ScholarWorks:
Ask CWU Libraries