Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

Primary Sources & Where To Find Them

An introduction to primary sources and some of the tools one can use to identify them.

Adam Matthew Collections

Adam Matthew logo

What is Adam Matthew?

Adam Matthew is a digital publisher of unique primary source collections from archives around the world. They work with many of the world’s leading libraries, archives and research institutions to make their materials available online to the scholarly community. Their research and teaching collections are primarily for the humanities and social sciences discipline, covering a wide range of subject areas from medieval family life to 20th century history, literature, and culture. Features and content include video, audio, 360-degree objects, data visualization and mapping.

Adam Matthew collections cover several regions and themes as listed in the table below:

Regions

Themes

1

Africa/Middle East

1

Area Studies

2

Britain & Europe

2

Cultural Studies

3

North America

3

Empire and Globalism

4

East Asia

4

Ethnic Studies

5

South Asia

5

Gender and Sexuality

6

World History

6

History

7

Politics

8

Literature

9

Theatre

10

War and Conflict

 

Accessing Databases

To access these databases, go through Databases on the CWU Libraries homepage. Use your CWU student/staff login ID and password to get access. From here, click on the drop-down arrow of “All Vendors/Providers” provided on the grey taskbar and click on "Adam Matthew" (76).

Screenshot of the CWU Libraries A-Z database showing Adam Matthew in the vendor/providor dropdown menu

Databases through Adam Matthew