Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

To Live -a novel by Yu Hua, translated by Michael Berry

A guide to CWU's 2019 Big Read

Links to resources

The PRC History Group is a network of scholars with interests in the history of the People’s Republic of China.  We define history broadly, to encompass a wide variety of disciplinary approaches, and we understand the history of the PRC to include decades prior to the official change of state power in 1949.

http://prchistory.org/ccprn/

 

Links below are from the Marxist Internet Archive. Links are for biography pages of Chinese leaders.

Mao Zedong

https://www.marxists.org/reference/archive/mao/

Li Lisan

https://www.marxists.org/archive/li-lisan/index.htm

Lin Biao

https://www.marxists.org/reference/archive/lin-biao/index.htm

Liu SHaoqi

https://www.marxists.org/reference/archive/liu-shaoqi/index.htm3

Peng Shuzi

https://www.marxists.org/archive/peng/index.htm

Zhou Enlai

https://www.marxists.org/reference/archive/zhou-enlai/index.htm

Zhu De

https://www.marxists.org/reference/archive/zhu-de/index.htm

 

https://dengxiaopingworks.wordpress.com/selected-works-vol-1-1938-1965/

 

UW Skinner Map Collection

http://digitalcollections.lib.washington.edu/cdm/search/collection/skinner/searchterm/Lower%20Yangzi/field/macror/mode/exact/conn/and/cosuppress/

 

Wilson Center Digital Archives

http://digitalarchive.wilsoncenter.org/collections

UCSD Modern Chinese History

https://ucsdmodernchinesehistory.wordpress.com/

 

Fordham University: Asia since 1900 site

http://sourcebooks.fordham.edu/Halsall/mod/modsbook52.asp#China

Visualising China is a JISC-funded project to allow users to explore and enhance more than 8000 digitised images of photographs of China taken between 1850 and 1950.

http://visualisingchina.net/

Historical Chinese Postcard Project

http://postcard.vcea.net/Browsing.php

Hoover’s many Chinese collections document political, economic, and social developments during the revolution of 1911, the warlord period, the civil war, and the post-1949 period. Holdings on pre-1949 Republican China, including Nationalist government documents and Chinese Communist Party materials, are particularly robust. Also available are accounts of non-Chinese public servants, military officers, engineers, journalists, and scholars who shaped or witnessed developments in China.

http://www.hoover.org/library-archives/collections/china