ATM 281 Socio-cultural Aspects of Apparel

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.

Electronic collection of material reproduced from rare printed sources held in the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University and the New York Public Library. The material reflects 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues in the United States, including religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine platform that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile devices. Titles range from ARTNews and Discover to popular magazines like Vogue, Wired and the New Yorker and everything in between.


*Download the Flipster app from Google Play or the App Store to browse and read magazines and download issues for offline use. Additional information is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/Flipster/Training_Promotion

Documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms, the J. Walter Thompson Company. Covers aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history. Includes documents from the late nineteenth century up until the late 1990s with the bulk representing the post-1945 world. The archive consists of publications, reports, research, memoranda, correspondence, meeting minutes, creative briefs, scripts, speeches, newsletters, artwork and advertisements created by the staff of J. Walter Thompson. **Stellingwerf gift purchase

A searchable archive of the US (1867 to present) and UK (1930-2015) editions of Harper's Bazaar. The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing. This resource chronicles over 150 years of American, British, and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering unique insights into the events, attitudes, and interests of the modern era. Full Text Included. Coverage: 1867 - current

A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included, with rich indexing enabling researchers to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day

An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture. CWU has access to Women's Magazine 1-3.

This is a collection of digitized catalogues, pamphlets, trade cards, and other marketing materials originally directed toward the American consumer. These primary sources document the history of advertising, consumer culture, material culture, household economics, and fashion in the United States. Highlights include catalogues from major department stores, such as Sears & Roebuck, Montgomery Ward, Charles William Stores, and the National Cloak & Suit Co. The original documents are from the collections of the Romaine Trade Catalogue Collection at the University of California, Santa Barbara; the Winterthur Library; and the Hagley Museum and Library. **Stellingwerf gift purchase