Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

Social Justice and Human Rights Dialogues: Migration

A resource for the Human Rights and Social Justice theme of Migration.

Oral Histories from first and second generation residents of Kittitas County

Roslyn, Cle Elum, and Ronald Oral History Interviews

This collection contains items and interviews gathered in Roslyn, Cle Elum, and Ronald, Washington, to document the region's history--in particular, the local history of coal mining in the 20th century.

These oral histories were collected by local social studies teacher Frederick Krueger, his students and colleagues between the 1970s and 2000s. In each interview, a resident of upper Kittitas County speaks about the ethnic, racial, cultural, and industrial history of Kittitas County and in particular the history of coal mining at Roslyn, Cle Elum, and Ronald, Washington.

Please note: To access the following audio and video recordings, click on "Link to Audio/Video File" after opening each record. If you have trouble playing the videos, you may have better success using a different Internet browser such as Safari or Chrome. If problems persist, please contact the site administrator at scholarworks@cwu.edu with a note about the title of the video you were attempting to access, the URL, and the browser you were using. Thanks!

More Oral Histories Online

 Oral Histories from the Ellis Island Foundation Since 1973, the Ellis Island Oral History project has been dedicated to preserving the first-hand recollections of immigrants who passed through the Ellis Island immigration station between 1892 and 1954 and the employees who worked there.

South Asian Oral History Project The University of Washington Libraries greatly recognizes the importance of oral histories as an important primary source for historical narratives. This recognition has led to the South Asian Oral History Project (SAOHP) at the University of Washington Libraries. The SAOHP represents one of the first attempts in the U.S. to record pan-South Asian immigrant experiences in the Pacific Northwest using the medium of oral history. This initiative not only has the goal of preserving the history of South Asian immigration to the region, but also of making these historical resources/material available to everyone. This project began in 2005 through a generous grant to the UW Libraries Special Collections from Irene Joshi, the former South Asia Studies Librarian at UW Libraries. Her contribution of $7000 set in motion this exciting project of remembering and celebrating the achievements of South Asians.

Seattle Civil Rights and Oral History Project: Activist Oral Histories Part of a larger collection focusing on efforts of  activists during the civil rights era in Seattle. This era did not only span from the 1950-60's  instead it started in 1910 and lasted into the 1970's and was relied on not only African American, but also on Filipino Americans, Japanese Americans, Chinese Americans, Jews, Latinos, Native Americans, and their allies. This collection offers brief biographies and video excerpts of these activists' oral histories

 

SEAAdoc - Documenting the Southeast Asian American Experience  - SEAAdoc is an educational resource of the Southeast Asian Archive at the UC Irvine Libraries focusing on post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam and the communities they have developed in the United States.
 

The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 (American Memory, Library of Congress) - This collection illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials.
 

Open Collections Program: Immigration to the US, Chinese Exclusion Act (1882) - Harvard collection
 

The Issei Immigrants and Civil Rights - First generation Japanese Americans
 

Regional History Project | UC-Santa Cruz University Library - The Regional History Project has been documenting the history of the Central Coast of California and the institutional history of UC Santa Cruz since 1963, through oral history. This web site includes the complete catalog of our collection, oral history resources, and links to other oral history sites on the Internet. All of the oral histories are available in full text (PDF).
 

Voices of Minnesota - Since 1948 the Minnesota Historical Society has collected oral histories of Minnesotans from all walks of life and all corners of the state, on a variety of topics. Look speficially at the Immigrant histories.

General History and Treatment of Migrants

more videos