Provides indexing and full text of journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Indexing and abstracts for more than 660 titles. Includes full text for 350 journals. Features over 5,000 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most cited and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
An archival research resource containing trade and popular magazines covering all aspects of the music industry, theatre and broadcast radio in the US and UK. CWU has access to Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 1: Music, Radio and The Stage, and Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1). Coverage: 1880-2000.
Artstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Registered users can save and organize Artstor images into groups, export image groups as a PowerPoint 2007 file for classroom presentations or share with other users at CWU through a stable URL link. For detailed instructions for registering, see Artstor's online help.
Note: Artstor is moving to JSTOR. The Artstor website will be retired next year on Aug. 1, 2024, but you can get started with using Artstor resources on JSTOR now. Link to the Artstor experience on JSTOR. Your existing Artstor user account will work on JSTOR.
Handbooks and encyclopedias in the social and behavior sciences. CWU has access to the following titles: 21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook; Encyclopedia of Journalism; Handbook of Collaborative Management Research; The Handbook of Cross-Cultural Management Research; The SAGE Handbook of Film Studies; The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Communication; The SAGE Handbook of Hospitality Management.
Magazine published monthly by the American Society of Cinematographers focused on the art and craft of cinematography, covering domestic and foreign feature productions, television productions, short films, music videos and commercials.
An academic journal that examines commercial film and television. Discussions include genres, television networks, series television, studios and directors. Also features articles on social and culture backgrounds of films and programs.
Academic Video Online (AVOn) on the Alexander Street (a ProQuest company) platform is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Academic Video Online (AVOn), searchable as part of the ProQuest One Academic database on the ProQuest platform, makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.
Through a selection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. Note: The content in this database can also be found by searching Academic Video Online.
Documentary Educational Resources (DER) is the premier source for classic and contemporary ethnographic films, which explore modern cultural struggles and artistic traditions and offer a longitudinal view of changing communities, cultures and identities. DER Premium provides the most comprehensive access to the DER streaming collection.
OS: Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, or later versions.
Browser: IE 6.0+ or Mozilla Firefox 2.0 or higher.
Media Player: Adobe Flash Player 9.0+; Windows Media Player 9.0+; QuickTime Player 6.0+.
This collection provides streaming access to more than 1,200 documentaries and series from PBS. Subjects range from science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more. Highlights include Frontline, NOVA, Nature, American Experience, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
Discover the British Film Institute’s Victorian Film Collection and the Mitchell and Kenyon Collection, as well as a selection of special early large format films. This material provides a glimpse into the lives of the late Victorians and Edwardians captured between 1895 and 1913 by some of Britain’s earliest film pioneers and innovators.