Psychology

This book provides a comprehensive foundation for understanding and integrating multiculturalism in all areas of professional practice. Offering directions for growth and development, the editors and a distinguished group of contributors explore emerging issues within the field. An indispensable resource for psychologists, social workers, school counselors, and teachers, this handbook is also an ideal supplementary text for students in counseling and clinical practice courses.

Culture is well recognized as an important basis for understanding psychological processes and behavior. Culturally informed research in psychology continues to supplement and challenge traditional knowledge in mainstream psychology in many ways, making culture a major topic of relevance for students and professionals in all areas of psychology. This second edition conveys the impact that the contributions of cultural & cross-cultural psychology have made to the field's understanding of the relation between culture and psychology. Divided into six parts, this text provides an account of the current state of cultural & cross-cultural psychology across a wide range of topics at the highest scholarly leve

This book provides culture-centered assessment and intervention strategies for effective clinical practice with Latina/o individuals and families. Mental health professionals will gain new and expanded cultural competence as they learn to sensitively and ethically integrate Latino values into their work. Throughout the text, case scenarios illustrate ways to work successfully with clients of all ages. A sample culture-centered clinical interview is included, along with a listing of Latino-specific mental health resources. Topics discussed include roles, relationships, and expectations in Latino families; cultural and bicultural values; gender role socialization; generational differences; identity and acculturation issues; educational values and achievement; Latinas/os in the workforce; and religious beliefs and practices.

Analyzes racial prejudice and its impact on white as well as black children, and provides wise counsel and a plan for action that is as fresh—and as necessary—as when the book was first written.

Reflecting sweeping changes in our understanding of gender and sexuality over the last two decades, the book aims to help clinicians master the fundamentals of sexual orientation and gender identity. Each chapter begins with the psychological and cultural context of a particular facet of human sexuality, including an exploration of its history and terminology, then proceeds to describe issues and challenges currently faced by people who embrace these identities.

This is the first textbook written to welcome those who are new to Asian American psychology. Concepts and theories come to life by relating the material to everyday experiences and by including activities, discussion questions, exercises, clinical case studies, and internet resources. Contributions from the leading experts and emerging scholars and practitioners in the field - the majority of whom have also taught Asian American psychology - feature current perspectives and key findings from the psychological literature.

This unique resource provides strengths-based, group counseling strategies designed to meet the needs of LGBTQI clients in a variety of settings. Drs. Goodrich and Luke capture the developmental concerns of LGBTQI individuals throughout the life cycle as they establish and maintain intimate relationships, create families, encounter career concerns, and navigate other milestones and transitions. Illustrative case examples and interventions throughout the text, as well as warnings and recommendations, make this an ideal resource for practice and group work courses. After a discussion of the history of group work with the LGBTQI community, the planning and process issues that group leaders should consider in their work, and relevant ethical and legal concerns, the authors explore a range of group types and pertinent issues.

The emergence of Critical Race Theory (CRT) marked an important point in the history of racial politics in the legal academy and the broader conversation about race and racism in the United States. More recently, CRT has proven an important analytic tool in the field of education, offering critical perspectives on race, and the causes, consequences and manifestations of race, racism, inequity, and the dynamics of power and privilege in schooling. This groundbreaking anthology is the first to pull together both the foundational writings in the field and more recent scholarship on the cultural and racial politics of schooling. A comprehensive introduction provides an overview of the history and tenets of CRT in education. Each section then seeks to explicate ideological contestation of race in education and to create new, alternative accounts. In so doing, this landmark publication not only documents the progress to date of the CRT movement, it acts to further spur developments in education.

This pioneering work is the most comprehensive book on Black families in therapy to appear in the clinical literature. It is unprecedented in its attention to the cultural diversity among Black families, its emphasis on the utilization of cultural strengths in therapy, and on its application of the concept of clinical empowerment. Dr. Boyd-Franklin also gives thoughtful attention to the therapist's use of self and the subtleties which are often involved in the treatment process.

As women, we know how important it is to take charge of our health care-to be informed and proactive. But too often we forget that our mental wellness is an integral part of our overall health. The Complete Guide to Mental Health for Women is the definitive resource for women looking for answers to their mental health questions, whether those questions concern a disorder like depression or adjusting to major life changes like motherhood or divorce.

In recent years there has been a greater recognition of how cultural concepts, values, and beliefs influence the way mental symptoms are expressed, how individuals and their families respond to mental distresses and to psychiatric diagnosis and treatment, and how mental health care is delivered community-wide.This comprehensive, clinically oriented volume examines the expression and treatment of mental illness in the context of culture. Written by 35 international experts in the field, Culture, Ethnicity, and Mental Illness covers the areas of the clinical encounter in which culture plays a prominent role, including psychiatric epidemiology, psychotherapy, culture-bound syndromes, and psychiatric assessment.

This book addresses issues of cultural diversity in feminist psychology as a whole--in theory, specific areas of research, and practice. The chapters in this book differ significantly from each other in length, focus, perspective, writing style, and the kind of information presented. This diversity reflects not only differences in the data available on specific topics but also cultural (positional) differences among the authors. The authors here represent African Americans (from vastly different geographical regions and cultural backgrounds), European Americans (from a diversity of cultures), Asian Americans (from different cultures), Latinas (from different Latino cultures) and Native Americans (from different tribes). Each author brings her own cultural perspective, values, and concerns to her chapter and focuses on the issues that she chose as the most relevant to address.

In this influential book, Karen Horney describes the ways that neuroses function as a peculiar struggle for life under adverse conditions-and how psychotherapy can help people free themselves from maladaptive ideas and behaviors. Using examples from her practice and writing in clear, accessible prose, she illuminates psychological processes with insight and empathy.

The Psychology of Prejudice and Discrimination provided a much-needed cornerstone work on one of the most crucial issues in the United States today. This updated and condensed edition of the award-winning set is a streamlined yet rich and insightful look at the mechanisms of prejudice and discrimination in practice. Editor Jean Chin and contributors from across the nation offer insight into how discrimination in American society is rationalized and enacted, as well as how it is experienced by diverse groups. Coverage goes beyond racism to include sexism and the plight of LGBTQ youths, as well as people with disabilities. Updates include a new introduction and conclusion presenting developments, successes, and failures in fighting prejudice and discrimination since the original set was published.

Ethological attachment theory is a landmark of 20th century social and behavioral sciences theory and research. This new paradigm for understanding primary relationships across the lifespan evolved from John Bowlby’s critique of psychoanalytic drive theory and his own clinical observations, supplemented by his knowledge of fields as diverse as primate ethology, control systems theory, and cognitive psychology. By the time he had written the first volume of his classic Attachment and Loss trilogy, Mary D. Salter Ainsworth’s naturalistic observations in Uganda and Baltimore, and her theoretical and descriptive insights about maternal care and the secure base phenomenon had become integral to attachment theory.

This groundbreaking book is the collective outcome of the first National Conference on Education and Training in Feminist Practice, convened to explore, integrate, and create a cohesive agenda for training and educating in feminist practice for the next decade. It brings together the nation's foremost feminist psychologists to address how psychology can be re-created in keeping with feminist principles and practices.This volume will be of interest to psychologists who wish to incorporate feminist principles into their work and to educators who wish to institute a gender-sensitive curriculum within undergraduate, graduate, and postdoctoral training

Mexican-Americans now constitute two thirds of what has become the largest and fastest-growing minority group in the United States, Hispanics. They have distinct cultural patterns and values that those who seek to serve them competently as clinicians and educators, and those who attempt to study them, need to understand. This is the first comprehensive overview of the psychology of the Chicana/o experience since 1984.

A long-awaited addition to the literature, this important new volume comprehensively addresses mental health issues relevant to women of color and presents guidelines for state-of-the-art treatment. Chapters illustrate the interaction of gender and ethnicity in mental health theory and practice, and discuss how cultural relevance and gender sensitivity can and must be incorporated into clinical work. The contributors are experts with extensive clinical experience with the specific groups of women they discuss, and many are themselves members of these groups, adding a unique and valuable dimension to their work. Inclusive in its approach and rich with illustrative case examples, WOMEN OF COLOR covers issues that affect both familiar and frequently overlooked groups of women.

This book highlights the limitations of traditional psychological theories and approaches when applied to African descent people. It provides information on how the African Centered Perspective is defined, as well as how it operates in the context of the African American family with regard to identity development, education, mental health, research, and managing contemporary issues. It links the context of African American life to the traditions, values and spiritual essence of their African ancestors in an attempt to acknowledge the African worldview and assist the African American community in addressing some of the challenges they will face in the 21st century. Includes a thorough annotated bibliography for further reading.African Centered Psychology in the Modern Era, The African American Family, The Struggle for Identity Congruence, Psychological Issues in Education, Contemporary Approaches to Developmental Psychology, Mental Health Issues, Praxis in African American Psychology: Theoretical and Methodological Considerations, African Centered Psychology and Issues in the 21st Century.Psychologists or counselors working with the African American population.