Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

Computer Science

Web Sites

Instructables 
 Instructables is the Biggest How To and DIY community where people make and share inspiring, entertaining, and useful projects, recipes, and hacks.
HCI Bibliography : Human-Computer Interaction Resources 
The result of a "non-profit multinational volunteer effort to provide a free comprehensive online bibliography for the field of Human-Computer Interaction." Over 29,000 sources are included, with bibliographic information, abstracts, and Web links.
Internet Public Library Arts & Humanities Resources 

Interesting and sometimes educational websites are featured on this annotated, topical gateway of websites.  Each website is recommended and annotated by a librarian working for the Librarians Internet Index as a quality resource.  You can also quickly group resources by domain type, so it is easy to see which sites are commercial, from organizations, and from the government.

Online Website Builders

The internet has enabled individuals everywhere to publish information, ideas and businesses in the form of websites, blogs and ecommerce sites. Website builders have made this easy, accessible and affordable. With the help of one of many website builders, the top 10 of which are listed above, building and publishing a website of any kind is within reach, now more than ever.

Sites created with website builders are wholly professional. Individuals can choose from many design templates, add images to their liking and additional features, from Facebook comment widgets to shopping carts. Website builders often bundle offers that include domain registration and hosting, accounting for all technical aspects of maintaining a website.

In the early days of the internet, websites had to be written manually by computer programmers, in HTML or Flash. Today, no code is required to build a website, and the cost of doing so has come down considerably too. The best website builders have developed easy-to-use, drag and drop editors in HTML5, which allow you to drag elements onto the page, add widgets and enter text. They are simple and fully functional, as proven by countless websites created.

Web Sites

Intute: Computing 

The Intute Computing Gateway provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised by subject specialists based at UK universities [but not limited to UK websites].

Intute: Science, Engineering and Technology Gateway 

A free online service providing you with access to the very best Web resources for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists. It covers the physical sciences, engineering, computing, geography, mathematics and environmental science. See also the "E-journals" search for freely available full text journals in the sciences.  Formerly known as EEVL--Internet Guide to Engineering, Mathematics, and Computing.

OAIster Catalog of Digital Resources 
OAIster is a catalog more than 25 million records of open access digital resource.  The Catalog was built by harvesting information from open access collections around the world  The digital resources in OAIster include items such as digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies.

The OAIster Catalog is searchable by title, author/creator, subject, language, keyword and several other forms of metadata.  Searching in the OAIster Catalog is by Boolean Search(And, Or, Not).  Like playing chess the best way to become good at boolean searching is to do a lot of boolean searching.  Here are the 'basic moves' for searching the OAIster Catalog:

Combining the search terms 'Cat' and 'Dog' (Boolean)
    Cat and Dog
    Cat or Dog
    Cat not Dog
Note: 'and', 'or', & 'not' are in drop-down boxes to the left of the search boxes.

Plurals, truncation, and wildcards
    Use + for plurals (s and es)
    Use * for truncation
    Use # for a wildcard character
    Use ?N for up to N characters

Adjacent terms (proximity
    Cat w Dog    (Cat is followed by Dog)
    Cat wN Dog  (Cat is followed by Dog with at most N terms between)
    Cat n Dog     (Cat is next to Dog, either order)
    Cat nN Dog   (Cat is within N terms of Dog, either order)

The available Limiters are Year, Document Type, and Language.  A Basic Search and an Expert Search interface is also available.  You can also create an account that will enable you to save searches.

NOTE:  Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted.  The Librarians in the ARC or at any of the service desks can help you with accessing information that is ‘access restricted’ and with any questions that you might have.

Physical Sciences, Engineering,Computing and Math from INFOMINE 
Most major disciplines in these areas are well covered. Basic science resources are emphasized though there is much of an applied nature as well. Climatology (incl. climate change information), paleontology and environmental science information with a physical science leaning are included.
Shodor.org 

Shodor.org is a nonprofit organization that provides interactive learning tools for computational math and science, such as their "Interactivate" pages for 3rd -12th grade students.  Shodor's Computation Science Reference Desk [CSERD] is a searchable portal to topical websites; see also the "Resources" tab to search through a number of tutorials on topics in computational science.

Strategian: The Strategic Guide to Quality Information in Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, and Psychology 

Searchable database with lots of links, including a database that provides citations to important articles, books, documents published before 1969.

Create Any Website You Want

Blogs can express your personal voice or your band's sound, with classic blog templates or personally tailored layouts including music player widgets. Websites can take on a commerce function, with convenient ways to upload your products' details and shopping carts for actual transactions. Restaurant owners will find design templates and website functions that support their needs, from displaying the menu to accepting orders online. And all sites would be made to fit mobile phone devices, tablets, and look fine on social networks.

The first step to choosing a website builder is understanding your needs and defining them. Do you want to create a blog? Will you be looking to build a site that would look good on devices other than PCs? What support do you need in setting up an online shop?

The best website builders will likely offer solutions, templates and widgets for all your needs, but some may not. Free trials or actual free website builders will probably help you familiarize with website building, but you will most likely want to explore a paid package to benefit from all available website functions. Read reviews of website builders on our site pages, or compare them side by side, to find the website builder and the deal that is best for you.

Free Website Builders

You can create your own free website, get free hosting and a free domain name, and build your website in minutes for absolutely FREE. Some website builders, the best of which are listed in the chart on this page, offer some or all of their services for free.

Of course, with all things free, free website building is limited in some ways. But this might not stop you from picking a certain website builder, for a trial period or until your needs change, in which case you can always upgrade your package.

Free website builders might limit the number of pages your site can contain. The choice of templates to choose from might also be limited. Your site's domain name might not be fully customizable, and the site might feature advertising by the website builder software or a third party. Professional ecommerce features might require you buy a premium package.

Free websites are nevertheless professional, fully functional and easy to set up. The benefits of using a website building editor, integrating a beautiful design, and sharing your site across the web and different platforms are all at hand with the free option. There's no longer need to hire an expensive designer and web-developer to construct your website for you. In fact, all of these now come for free.

Website Builder Software

Website creators make it possible for you and me to build our own website without any HTML coding knowledge. Even if one knows the necessary code to create a site, the builder software can be counted on to keep up with industry trends and the latest technology. Such is the case in switching to HTML5 website templates, an intelligent solution to match your site with all devices – PCs, mobile, tablets, social networks and beyond.

Another cutting-edge software feature of website builders is the actual web page creator. These are unique to each website builder, and are referred to as editors. Powerful and easy to use, the editor is mostly a graphic interface with which individuals can drag and drop elements onto their sites and pages, add widgets and integrate shopping carts and other functions. In some case, namely some of the leading website builders, using the editor is actually fun!

For more tech-savvy individuals, features such as URL redirect services, MIME Types, and FTP Managers and File Managers are most likely essential. Although all sites created with website builders can look professional and function flawlessly with the tools they provide, these features allow you complete control of the internal structure of your website, web-pages and content.

 

Items Of Interest

PIVOT (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities) Restricted Resource 
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations.  PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.

You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen.  Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT. For more information, please see: Pivot Video Tutorials.

Note: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission. 
If an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required," please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying.
How Stuff Works 

Quizzes, image galleries, weblinks and Q & A website for learning about anything and everything--broken down into browseable sections:  adventure, animals, auto, communication, computer, electronics, entertainment, food, geography, health, history, home & garden, money, people, and science.

Scientific American: Ask the Experts 

"Queries range from the profound (Is it possible to travel through time?) to the everyday (How does a.microwave oven cook food?) and from the interesting (What illnesses do insects get?) to the surprising (How do whales sleep without drowning?"