Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

Computer Science

American Association for the Advancement of Science

American Association for the Advancement of Science 

An international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association.  In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the journal Science (earlier issues online), as well as many scientific newsletters, books and reports, and supports programs that raise the bar of understanding for science worldwide.  AAAS also provides some career reosources that are of general interest.
 

Welcome to the directory of development organizations 2011

Create your own personal directory of development organizations. All files are enabled for adding pointers and comments to the directory. Learn more, by clicking "My Directory".

Welcome to the directory of development organizations 2011

The directory of development organizations, listing 70,000 development organizations, has been prepared to facilitate international cooperation and knowledge sharing in development work, both among civil society organizations, academic and research institutions, governments and the private sector.

The directory aims to promote interaction and active partnerships among governments, private sector and key development organisations in civil society, including NGOs, trade unions, faith-based organizations, indigenous peoples movements, foundations and research centres. In creating opportunities for dialogue with governments and private sector, civil society organizations are helping to amplify the voices of the poorest people in the decisions that affect their lives, improve development effectiveness and sustainability and hold governments and policymakers publicly accountable.

In particular, the directory is intended to provide a comprehensive source of reference for development practitioners, researchers, donor employees, and policymakers who are committed to good governance, sustainable development and poverty reduction, through: the financial sector and microfinance, trade and business development services, rural development and appropriate technology, private sector development and policy reforms, legislation & rule of law and good governance, community development and social protection, gender equality and participation, environment and health, research, training and education.

As part of the collective effort to meet the Millennium Development Goals by 2015, the Year of Microcredit provided an opportunity for the international community to raise awareness about the importance of microfinance in eradicating poverty, and to enhance existing programmes that support sustainable, inclusive financial sectors worldwide. In essence, microfinance offers each day the possibility and hope to many poor people of improving - through their own efforts - their household economic welfare and well-being and enterprise stability and growth. Therefore, In this 2011 edition, microfinance actors and practitioner organizations have been marked by [M], integrating microfinance institutions and their enabling environment into one directory.

This cutting-edge publication -- Eleventh Edition -- will give you hundreds (thousands) of useful sites where you can find the statistics, reports, regulations, best practices and other key information you need...when you need it. This time-saving tool includes a country finder index and annotates each organization by category, so you'll know from the start whether an organization is worth visiting. Its Internet resources will point you in the direction of the best development resources available in each country on the World Wide Web today.

Please note:

  • For easier referencing, the directory has been divided into 6 geographical sections: Africa, Asia and the Middle East, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, North America, and Oceania.

  • For each of the regions contacts have been annotated by the following 9 categories: (1) international organizations; (2) government institutions; (3) private sector support organizations (including fairtrade); (4) finance institutions; (5) training and research centres; (6) civil society organizations; (7) development consulting firms (including references to job opportunities and vacancy announcements); (8) information providers (development newsletters/journals); and, (9) grantmakers.

  • The directory can be used in a variety of ways... by researchers, consultants and other development practitioners searching for up-to-date institutional information for a particular country; by trainers using the directories as a reference tool for their training programmes; by organizations trying to identify possible project partners; by individuals looking to identify possible employers; by funders seeking grantees; by grantees in search of funders; or by organizations aiming at identifying those institutions, agencies and programmes which are dedicated to providing resources, products and services to their members.

Organizations Directory

*LEAD Center* ((LEAD))

The LEAD Center is a new one-stop-shop for UC Berkeley students looking to find leadership training, get involved with organizations, or receive advising for student groups.

*Student Environmental Resource Center* (SERC)

SERC cultivates a collaborative space to strengthen the collective effectiveness of the sustainability community, and provides resources for students to actualize their visions of a more equitable, socially just, and resilient future.

*The Green Initiative Fund* (TGIF)

TGIF is UC Berkeley's student-fee based campus sustainability fund. TGIF provides funding via grants for projects that reduce UC Berkeley's negative impact on the environment and make UC Berkeley more sustainable. Learn more at http://tgif.berkeley.edu

*UC Berkeley Public Service Center*

UC Berkeley Public Service Center engages the University and the community in reciprocal partnerships to foster social justice and civic engagement.

[make]new christian fellowship

Our vision is to use creative arts to engage the campus about Christianity. We offer training in film, Photoshop, photography, cooking, and music and use these skills to express the gospel. We have weekly Bible studies and have fun activities all year.

100 Strong

It shall be the purpose of 100 Strong to have 100 high school girls from disadvantaged backgrounds from the Oakland Unified School District participate in a semester-long leadership training and mentorship program with UC Berkeley Students.

2048 Project for Human Rights (2048)

Our mission is to educate students and the public about the evolution of international human rights through occasional conferences and events. The student group will promote campus-wide involvement with 2048 project (www.2048.berkeley.edu) hosted by the

3DMC

Interested in engineering parts, creating custom game assets, or winning design competitions? Then come check out 3DMC!

4Corners Christian Fellowship

We are a diverse Christian fellowship that welcomes everyone from everywhere (hence the name, “4Corners”).

A Brighter Tomorrow

“A Brighter Tomorrow” provides a support group on campus for those who are struggling to cope with the daily stressors of their lives, whether they are suffering from suicide ideation, self-harm, loneliness, mental health issues, and more.

General Resources

  • Yearbook of international organizations Online
    Includes all data published in the printed Yearbook of international organizations (Volumes 1A, 1B, 2, 3, and 4), Who's who in international organizations, and the whole Encyclopedia. Includes the searchable databases: Global strategies - solutions, Human values, Human development, Patterns and metaphors, Bibliography (issues), Integrative concepts, Network visualizations, and Transnational associations
  • Associations Unlimited
    This database contains listings and contact information for around 460,000 organizations, at regional, national, and local levels. It can be searched by association name or acronym, location, subject of activity, and includes IRS data on U.S. non-profits
  • Aid Data 3.0: Open data for international development
    Allows browsing aid data by donor, country, sector, and other criteria.
  • Committee of Religious NGOs at the UN
    Under the "Membership" link in the left side menu bar is a list of member organizations.
  • Directory of Development Organizations
    A comprehensive listing of over 53,000 development organizations, arranged by country and covering all world regions.
  • Europa World
    Click on the 'organizations' tab for a worldwide listing of organizations, including NGOs, with contact information. You can sort the list by area of activity and by country.
  • Idealist.org: Action Without Borders
    On the home page, click on "find" and then "organizations." This takes you to a page for searching NGOs all over the world.
  • The NGO Cafe | WWW Virtual Library on Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs)
    The "NGO Bungee Jumps" link in the left side menu takes you to a list of links to NGO indices and resources.
  • TakingITGlobal - Organizations
    This page allows you to search worldwide listing of organizations by area of activity, country of activity, and primary language of the organization, as well as by keyword.
  • Think Tanks and NGOs
    An alphabetical listing of "think tanks" (non-profit research institutes) and NGOs around the world, with links.
  • UN Office at Geneva, NGOs
    A directory of NGOs which have consultative status with the Economic and Social Council of the UN (ECOSOC). Can be searched by field of activity, ECOSOC category, or organization name.
  • World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations
    Navigate to the "Worldwide NGO Directory," which is organized by region.
  • UNESCO Database of Non-Governmental Organizations
    Provides fully searchable profiles and contact information of the NGOs affiliated with UNESCO.

Directory of Charities and Nonprofit Organizations

GuideStar is the most complete source of information about U.S. charities and other nonprofit organizations there is. Search our database of more than 1.8 million IRS-recognized organizations to find a charity to support, benchmark your own nonprofit's performance, research the sector, and more.

Arts, Culture and Humanities

Arts, culture, and humanities organizations bring the performing arts to the public; preserve and commemorate the events, places, and cultures that created and continue to shape the nation; and promote the distribution of ideas. They range from internationally renowned art museums to small historical societies, major theatrical venues to charities that bring the arts into schools to promote scholastic achievement, and major broadcasting services to local-access radio and TV.

Education and Research

Education nonprofits promote learning and intellectual development from cradle to grave, from preschools through post-graduate schools and adult learning programs. They also include schools for students with special needs, organizations offering vocational and technical training, libraries, literacy programs, scholarships, student organizations, and parent-teacher groups.

The research category comprises science, technology, and social science institutes. A nonprofit in this category may focus on astronomy, chemistry, or other physical science; engineering; computer science; marine biology, physiology, or other biological science; anthropology, economics, international law, political science, or other social science; or interdisciplinary fields, such as black studies, ethnic studies, gerontology, labor studies, and urban studies.

Environment and Animals

Environmental organizations are dedicated to reclaiming and preserving natural resources and to beautifying the world around us. They range from recycling programs to wetlands management to garden clubs.

Animal nonprofits include humane societies and SPCAs, bird and wildlife sanctuaries, fisheries, veterinary organizations, zoos, and animal-training nonprofits.

Health

Health nonprofits cover a broad range of organizations concerned with the body or mind. Hospitals, substance abuse and additional treatment programs, diseases and disease research, medical disciplines and specialty research, and mental health and crisis services all fall into this category.

Human Services

Human service nonprofits are the organizations that most people think of when they hear the word nonprofit. They feed the hungry, assist crime victims and offenders, provide job training, house the homeless, help people prepare for and recover from disasters, maintain playgrounds and athletic fields, act as advocates for children, and offer programs to help youth mature into adults who contribute to society.

International

International organizations focus their efforts outside U.S. borders. Development relief organizations, human rights advocates, peace and security nonprofits, and organizations that promote international understanding all fall into this category.

Public, Societal Benefit

Public and societal benefit nonprofits work in the areas of civil rights and civil liberties, community improvement, philanthropy and volunteerism, and voter education and registration. They also include life insurance providers, unemployment compensation organizations, pension and retirement funds, fraternal groups, employee associations, and cemeteries.

Religion

Religious organizations encompass houses of worship for the world’s major religions, including Christianity—both Protestantism and Catholicism—Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, and Hinduism. Religious print and broadcast nonprofits as well as organizations dedicated to interfaith issues also fall into this category.

Unknown

Nonprofits in this category have not been classified by the IRS, nor have they provided GuideStar with information about the type of work they do. Any nonprofit listed in this section is welcome to update its information on GuideStar through the GuideStar Exchange. There is no charge for updating.

 

Organizations & Directories

Association for Women in Science and Engineering 

Aim is to advance the participation of girls and women in the sciences, from biomedicine to mathematics and the social sciences, in engineering, and in the technologies, in all areas and at all levels.

Nature Network 

Nature Network is the online meeting place for you and fellow scientists to gather, talk and find out about the latest scientific news and events. Science is an international endeavor and deserves a global stage for discussion. Scientists can also benefit from interactions at the local level. That's why you'll see an increasing number of local city hubs on Nature Network, starting with Boston and London.