Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

Computer Science

Biographical Information

A to Z of Computer Scientists
Print Location: Stacks 4th Floor QA 76.2 A2 H46 2003

An international collection of biographies of about 100 male and female computer scientists. Entries focus on an individual's work, achievements, and contributions. Includes entries by field, a chronology, and glossary.

Computer Pioneers
Print Location: Stacks 4th Floor QA 76.2 A2 L44 1995

Provides biographies of about 240 "innovators" in the field of computing and supporting fields. Describes their qualifications, contributions, and recognition from the industry. Offers a bibliography of biographical and significant publications.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Computer Science, Engineering, and Technology
Print Location: Ref QA 76.15 D5258 2001 
Includes definitions for about 7,500 terms covering such major topics as: artificial intelligence, programming languages, software engineering, operating systems, database management, and more.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science
Print Location: Ref QA 76.15 E48 2000 
Contains 605 articles from 370 international contributors. Articles are classified into nine topic areas in computer science from hardware to computing milieux. There are nine appendices, plus name and subject indexes.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology
Print Location: Ref QA 76.15 H43 2003 
Provides over 400 articles that examine a topic's significance and development in computer science and technology. Includes four appendices: bibliographies & web resources, a chronology of computing, significant awards, and computer-related organizations.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Computer Science, Engineering, and Technology
Print Location: Ref QA 76.15 D5258 2001 
Includes definitions for about 7,500 terms covering such major topics as: artificial intelligence, programming languages, software engineering, operating systems, database management, and more.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science
Print Location: Ref QA 76.15 E48 2000 
Contains 605 articles from 370 international contributors. Articles are classified into nine topic areas in computer science from hardware to computing milieux. There are nine appendices, plus name and subject indexes.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology
Print Location: Ref QA 76.15 H43 2003 
Provides over 400 articles that examine a topic's significance and development in computer science and technology. Includes four appendices: bibliographies & web resources, a chronology of computing, significant awards, and computer-related organizations.
Dictionary of Computing Restricted Resource Some full text available

Part of the CWU subscription to Oxford Reference Online, A Dictionary of Computing "...is the most up-to-date dictionary of computing available. It provides comprehensive coverage of computer applications in industry, the office, science, education, and the home....It includes full coverage of the Internet, World Wide Web, and multimedia and reflects recent advances in all aspects of computing, especially in personal computing, computer graphics, networking, artificial intelligence, and computer security."

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Print Location: Ref Q123 .M15 2003 

A dictionary thorough in scope and intended for a general audience. A list of scientific fields it covers is provided in the front of the book, and included in these are aerospace engineering, biochemistry, building construction and civil engineering, communications, computer science, electronics, mapping, navigation, and ordnance.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Print Location: Ref Q121 .M3 Some full text available

Thousands of well-illustrated articles, each containing a definition, general overview, relationships to other topics, and cross-references.  See also the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology (beginning with 2003 to current year):  Ref Q121 M32 

Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
With over two million entries, Oxford Reference Online is a superb cross-searchable resource to use when you are at the "looking for a clue" or "needing verification" stages of your research. Oxford Reference provides quality, up-to-date information from a series of well-respected books--and unlike Wikipedia you can cite Oxford Reference in a paper!

Use Quick Reference materials to discover a variety of SubjectsTimelinesQuotationsEnglish Dictionaries, and Bilingual Dictionaries.

Oxford's Reference Library is divided into Subject Categories, drawn from the 308 volumes of the Oxford Reference Library. Those categories are:
Archaeology Media studies
Art & Architecture Medicine and health
Bilingual dictionaries Music
Classical studies Names studies
Encyclopedias Performing arts
English Dictionaries and Thesauri Philosophy
History Quotations
Language reference Religion
Law Science and technology
Linguistics Social Sciences
Literature Society and culture

Assistance and advice with using the Quick Reference and the Reference Library are available at this link, and by contacting your friendly neighborhood Brooks Library Librarians.
 
Oxford Reference Online: Computing Some full text available

Suite of dictionaries covering topics important to cyberspace and computer technology.  Titles include: A Dictionary of Computing, A Dictionary of the Internet, A Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units.

Atlases & Maps

An Atlas of Cyberspaces 

The website is no longer being updated, but it does provide maps about the internet and cyberspace.  There is also a census of Internet use by country, artistic, conceptual and topological representations of cyberspace, traceroutes that data uses to progress through the internet, and maps of virtual worlds and multiple user dimensions.

Biographical Information

A to Z of Computer Scientists
Print Location: Stacks 4th Floor QA 76.2 A2 H46 2003 

An international collection of biographies of about 100 male and female computer scientists. Entries focus on an individual's work, achievements, and contributions. Includes entries by field, a chronology, and glossary.

Computer Pioneers
Print Location: Stacks 4th Floor QA 76.2 A2 L44 1995 

Provides biographies of about 240 "innovators" in the field of computing and supporting fields. Describes their qualifications, contributions, and recognition from the industry. Offers a bibliography of biographical and significant publications.