Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

Computer Science

Employement

ACM Career & Job Center

The ACM developed this Web site to help students and professionals make informed decisions about employment and careers. It contains a searchable jobs database that includes full time positions, internships, and summer jobs; self-assessment tools; and discussion forums for advice from professionals and students.

IEEE Computer Society: Jobs

This Web site contains resources for job seekers and employers; it includes a searchable postion listing and a means for employers to post postions and review resumes. Registration is free. The IEEE Computer Society also maintains a Web site called Build Your Career in Computing. It includes news, articles, and links to job boards.

ComputerScience.ORG

This Web site contains resources for job seekers and employers; analysis of the top 12 most prevalent CS careers Build Your Career in Computing. It includes news, articles, and links to job boards.

A Guide to Online Computer Science Degrees and Careers

This Web site provides a comprehensive guide for students entering the job market Build Your Career in Computing.

 
 

Association, Organizations, & Professional Societies

American Association for Artificial Intelligence

The AAAI, founded in 1979, is a scientific society devoted to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behavior and their embodiment in machines. Their site contains information on artificial intelligence, AAAI publications (book, journals, conference proceedings, and technical papers); conference, workshop, and symposia information; and membership benefits.

Association for Computing Machinery

Billing itself as "the first society in computing," the ACM is the world's first educational and scientific computing society. Founded in 1947, its membership currently totals over 80,000 computing professionals and students world wide. The site includes information about ACM activities, services, conferences, publications, and policies. The ACM Digital Library contains full text of articles and papers from all of the their journals, magazines, and proceedings.

IEEE Computer Society

Founded in 1947, the IEEE Computer Society is the world's oldest and largest (98,000 members) professional association of people in computing. The site contains a full range of information about conferences, standards, publications, activities, education, certification, and employment. The Digital Library provides access to the Computer Society's magazines, transactions, and a growing body of conference proceedings.

NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards

NSSN is a partnership of ANSI, government agencies, and international and private sector standards organizations. Its Web site can be used to search for and purchase standards from over 600 global sources. NSSN is also useful for tracking the status of a new development project, or identifying an individual who can interpret a standard.

Resources of Scholarly Societies: Computer Science

This listing is part of the Scholarly Societies Project sponsored by the University of Waterloo Library. It provides access to Web sites maintained by or for scholarly computer science societies around the world.

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics

A group of professionals formed SIAM in 1952 to advance the application of mathematics to science and industry. SIAM members are computer scientists, mathematicians, engineers, statisticians, and engineers. This site includes informationa about their publications, conferences, meetings as well as access to their online journals.