The Science On a Sphere® Data Catalog is comprised of datasets from NOAA, NASA, universities, science centers and other organizations. The datasets are divided into the categories of Atmosphere, Ocean, Land, Astronomy, Models and Simulations, and Extras. The catalog is continually growing, so be sure to check back often. Each dataset entry includes a description of the dataset, a picture, a video, notable features, relevant links, and source information.
The Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. Conducted every five years, the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States. Participation by every farmer and rancher, regardless of the size or type of operation, is vitally important. By responding to the Census, producers are helping themselves, their communities and all of U.S. agriculture
The Pew Research Center's Internet Project is pleased to offer scholars access to raw data sets from our research. All uses of this data should reference the Pew Research Center as the source of the data and acknowledge that the Pew Research bears no responsibility for interpretations presented or conclusions reached based on analysis of the data.
figshare allows users to upload any file format to be previewed in the browser so that any research output, from posters and presentations to datasets and code, can be disseminated in a way that the current scholarly publishing model does not allow
The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of datatypes.
Pathway Commons is a network biology resource and acts as a convenient point of access to biological pathway information collected from public pathway databases, which you can search, visualize and download. All data is freely available, under the license terms of each contributing database.
National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) is responsible for hosting and providing access to one of the most significant archives on Earth, with comprehensive oceanic, atmospheric, and geophysical data. From the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun and from million-year-old sediment records to near real-time satellite images, NCEI is the Nation’s leading authority for environmental information.
The AirData website gives you access to air quality data collected at outdoor monitors across the United States, Puerto Rico, and the U. S. Virgin Islands. The data comes primarily from the AQS (Air Quality System) database.
The National Science Foundation's National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON) is a continental-scale observation facility operated by Battelle and designed to collect long-term open access ecological data to better understand how U.S. ecosystems are changing.
Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data. You can find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more. The Data.gov team works at the U.S. General Services Administration, and data on the site are provided by hundreds of organizations, including Federal agencies. The code behind the site is open source.
UNdata is the brainchild of UNSD, the statistical arm of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs and the coordinator of statistical activities throughout the UN System. UNSD's core mission is to advance the development of the global statistical system and promote the dissemination of statistical information. The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators. Whilst this initial version of UNdata is fully equipped with all the functionalities for data access, the development team is continuously adding new databases and features to further enhance the usefulness to users. Useful features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries are also provided to aid research.
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Eurostat offers a whole range of important and interesting data that governments, businesses, the education sector, journalists and the public can use for their work and daily life.
We provide access to data via the UK Data Service. We hold data from large-scale government surveys, such as the Labour Force Survey, major UK surveys that follow individuals over time, such as the British Household Panel Survey, opinion polls, multimedia qualitative data sources such as interview and focus group transcripts, historical data sources and data from environmental research projects. Our data catalogue, Discover, also contains links to: UK census data; cross-national data, such as the European Social Survey, Eurobarometers and World Values Surveys and aggregate databanks, such as World Bank indicators; and qualitative data held at other archives in the UK.