Online Library Resources: The library provides remote access to many electronic resources including ebooks, ejournals, and streaming media. Search the library's catalog and use the filters on the left-hand side to limit your search to "CWU Online Resources."
Online Research Guides:Research Guides -- Over 55 subject research guides available to help you explore the online resources available to you and your department.
Databases: The library subscribes to over 170 databases across all disciplines, all of which are accessible on- and off-campus with your CWU credentials. Our recently acquired and trial databases are listed below.
Navigating Online Resources Guide - This simple guide highlights ways to find ebooks, articles, media and more related to your subject area.
Questions? Access Issues?
If you have research questions, please contact:
CWU Ellensburg users may contact Brooks Library at firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 509-963-1021 or 1-800-290-3327.
CWU Des Moines users may contact the library staff at email@example.com, or call 206-439-3800 ext. 3860.
CWU Lynnwood users may contact the library staff at firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 425-640-1574 ext. 3750.
Academic Video Online (AVOn) on the Alexander Street (a ProQuest company) platform is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Academic Video Online (AVOn), searchable as part of the ProQuest One Academic database on the ProQuest platform, makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
The African American Historical Serials Collection features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
This collection provides access to key events in the history of European maritime exploration from c.1420-1920 and features rare manuscript and early printed material, illustrated maps and documents, diaries and ships' logs.
Contains primary and secondary documents such as artwork, speeches, petitions, diaries, journals, and correspondence, early linguistic and ethnographic accounts, photographs, maps, rare books and newspapers, ranging from the 16th to the 20th century.
American Indian Newspapers presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
Digitized manuscripts, ephemera, and rare printed works on the history of the American West from the Everett D. Graff collection at the Newberry Collection in Chicago. Covers early pioneers and explorers, the gold rush, railroads, emigrant guides and travel journals, Native American history and culture and much more.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender program module four examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. Includes manuscripts, periodicals and other ephemera dating from the 1820s, with the bulk from 1970–2016.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
Digitized historical content on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. More than 1,100 digitized historical books, as well as Hispanic newspapers, political and religious pamphlets, and essays. Documents primarily from the 19th and early 20th century. Content is 80% Spanish and 20% English and is searchable in both languages.
Digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, civil rights, religious thought, and growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Contains over 250,000 pages of personal and archival manuscript collections, 3000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals, and hundreds of rare books. Content is drawn from the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.”
Consists of nearly 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923. It presents a comprehensive picture of religion in America at the turn of the century. Subjects addressed include the conflict between religion and science, the growing interest in Eastern religions and other world religions, and significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans.
Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive collection of video and text. Counselling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health students will benefit from this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, documentaries, psychotherapy transcripts, DSM-5/ICD-10 content, as well client narratives and reference works.
S&P Capital IQ is a resource for financial data, analytics, and research. The web-based platform combines deep information on public and private companies, markets, and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. Includes an Excel plug-in for data analysis.
Note: To access users must create an account using their CWU email address.
A comprehensive collection of materials focused on the physical constitution of the earth and its atmosphere as related to modern social movements focused on environmentalism and sustainability that emerged in the late 20th Century. The collection contains articles and reports documenting the rise of the environmental movement, pollution awareness, environmental management, and alternative energy resources.
Digital Theatre Plus offers streamed films of leading British theatre productions for educational use in schools, colleges and universities. Each production is supported by additional content, including interviews with the creative and production teams and written study guides. Included are complete, recently filmed stage productions of plays, musicals, and operas from the Royal Shakespeare Company, the Young Vic, and other well-known West End companies and venues.
Documentary Educational Resources (DER) is the premier source for classic and contemporary ethnographic films, which explore modern cultural struggles and artistic traditions and offer a longitudinal view of changing communities, cultures and identities. DER Premium provides the most comprehensive access to the DER streaming collection.
Electronic collection of material reproduced from rare printed sources held in the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University and the New York Public Library. The material reflects 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues in the United States, including religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
Primary sources from multiple archives that capture the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920. Includes the various colonial frontiers of North America, as well as the settlers of Southern Africa, Australia and New Zealand.
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, and the struggle for women's rights, from the 19th century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men's movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
Provides full-text access to an extensive collection of modern and historical legal periodicals and monographs including documents on international and foreign jurisdiction, U.S. treaties, U.S Supreme Court, U.S. Attorney General, and more. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
Provides resources on Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims. Content includes decisions, transcripts, docket books, journals of the Indian Claims Commission, and related publications from 1789-present.
Indigenous Peoples: North America sources collections from across Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century. Including diverse manuscripts; book collections; newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations; materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages all enable students' examination of important primary source materials.
JoVe Science Education: Core Biology constitutes a video textbook of basic biology, including: fundamentals, cellular processes, genetics, human biology, ecology, evolution, and plant biology. Each area has several chapters, and each chapter has multiple videos teaching the material.
This collection introduces the field of developmental biology and cover five areas: developmental genetics; molecular developmental biology; stem cell biology; organogenesis; and aging and regeneration.
This collection focuses on genetics and incorporates five broad subdisciplines: the genetics of individuals and populations, genetics and disease, gene expression, epigenetics, and genetic engineering.
This collection provides safety guidelines to be followed when working with hazardous materials and equipment. It covers universal topics such as PPE, electrical safety, and general emergency guidelines, as well as some specific safety procedures for chemistry and biology laboratories.
This collection provides an introduction to the field of neuroscience, exploring five major branches of study: neurophysiology; neuroanatomy; cell and molecular neuroscience; behavioral neuroscience; and developmental neuroscience.
Ken Burns and his collaborators have been creating historical documentary films for more than forty years. Known for a signature style that brings primary source documents, images, and archival video footage to life on screen, these films present the opportunity to pose thought-provoking questions for students, and introduce new ideas, perspectives, and primary sources. Includes lesson plans, media galleries, videos, documents, and images. PBS is providing free access to this collection through the PBS LearningMedia website
Offers users access to more than 700 full-length Met performances, including stunning HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. The site and its content are fully accessible on most mobile devices.
A large, 4-volume digital collection of both in-copyright and public domain editions and manuscripts of music scores, mostly from the classical repertory. Includes works by major and lesser-known composers spanning the Renaissance to the 21st century in full, study, and piano-vocal scores, and piano reductions.
Online data and mapping application that gives access to indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Geography available differs by source. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources. Many of the public files are available for free download.
This historical newspaper provides first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time from an African-American perspective. This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1910-1975.
Collections from the U.S. National Archives and the Chicago History Museum join first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. Coverage of American Indians in the first half of the 20th century includes Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and Records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. Researchers will also find excellent collections, many previously unpublished, on American Indians in the 19th century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government and Indian tribes.
Consists of personal papers of African Americans and records of civil rights organizations. Among the collections are: Papers of the Revolutionary Action Movement (RAM); Mary McLeod Bethune Papers; Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs (NACWC); Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference; Bayard Rustin Papers; Claude A. Barnett Papers.
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. Includes an additional subcollection, Periodicals Archive Online Foundation Collection 3, which contains backfiles of significant periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Because Central Washington University Library is a HathiTrust member, when you log in using your institutional login and password, you have access to a larger number of volumes and features. Including the ability to download full volumes of public domain works.
To login to Central Washington University's instance of HathiTrust click on the large yellow "Log In" button. Select "Central Washington University" as your partner institution and click "Continue." Once prompted, login in using your CWU username and password.
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) catalog and digital collections includes newspapers, journals, documents, archives and other research materials. CRL makes their collections available to member institutions and offers open access to nearly 10,000 digitized titles published between the 1920s and the early 1960s with an emphasis on materials produced outside the U.S. CWU is not a member.