Full text access to over 110,000 digital books in a wide range of subject areas: History & Political Science, Science & Technology, Social Sciences, Health & Medicine, Law, Business & Economics, Religion & Philosophy, Literature & Language, Arts, and Education. Scholarly titles from high quality publishers including leading university presses, top non-governmental organizations, and leaders in academic publishing.
Search all of CWU's EBSCO databases including: Academic Search Complete, America: History & Life, Art Full Text, Business Source Complete, Criminal Justice Abstracts, Education Full Text, Newswires, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, SPORTDiscus with Full Text, and more.
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine platform that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile devices. Titles range from ARTNews and Discover to popular magazines like Vogue, Wired and the New Yorker and everything in between.
*Download the Flipster app from Google Play or the App Store to browse and read magazines and download issues for offline use. Additional information is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/Flipster/Training_Promotion
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific full text articles within 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields, ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations (the Canadian Psychological Association and the English language publications of the Hogrefe Publishing Group).
PsycINFO is an abstract and index database of more than 3 million resources, covering psychology back to its underpinnings in the 17th Century. Records cover peer-reviewed journals, books, and dissertations and professional coverage goes beyond psychology to include related disciplines such as medicine, law, social work, neuroscience, business, nursing, forensics, engineering, and more.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Through a selection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. Note: The content in this database can also be found by searching Academic Video Online.
Part of Archives Direct, this collection of Foreign Office files explores the history of Persia (Iran), Central Asia, and Afghanistan from the decline of the Silk Road in the first half of the nineteenth century to the establishment of Soviet rule over parts of the region in the early 1920s.
Access to the full text of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. Subscription also includes DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and the Spanish edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5.
A history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Provides access to music of all regions from every continent. Covers genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Includes artists such as: Bing Crosby, Buddy Guy, Charlie Parker, Chuck Mangione, Dinah Washington, Diana Krall, Dixie Dregs, Ella Fitzgerald, Etta James, Sonny Rollins, Dizzy Gillespie, Thelonius Monk, and Stan Getz.
A continuously expanding collection of hundreds of thousands of tracks of streaming music. Users may browse, search and listen remotely. Music Online: Listening contains the following modules: Classical Music Library, Jazz Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Smithsonian Global Sound, American Music, and Popular Music.
Access to a wide range of popular music from around the world, includes tracks from major genres in pop music, such as alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and more. Includes artists such as: Gloria Gaynor, Lou Reed, Iggy Pop, Kool & The Gang, Edith Piaf, Rod Stewart, The Sex Pistols, A Flock of Seagulls, Tanya Tucker, Naughty by Nature, Wu-Tang Clan, Liberace.
A comprehensive streaming audio collection of world music. With albums and individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds, this collection includes the published recordings owned by the nonprofit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label together with the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels.
Editor and publisher William O. Walker established this newspaper as one of the most influential Black newspapers in Ohio. This historical Black newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1934-1991
Provides primary source material essential to the study of American history and African American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Great Migration and Civil Rights to the election of America’s first Black president. Explore nearly nine decades of everyday life as written from the perspective of this Detroit-based newspaper providing researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. Coverage: 1939-2010.
One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights. Coverage: 1911-2010.
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more. Coverage: 1838 – 2010
Provides access to millions of primary source, cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history. The vast majority of the content in History Vault is not available elsewhere. The content in History Vault is perfect for researchers in history, African American studies, women’s studies, political science, social sciences, sociology, and international studies.
The records in this collection from 1940-1948 focus on understanding the modern history of the Middle East, the establishment of Israel as a sovereign state, and the wider web of postwar international world politics.
Provides insight into the efforts of the president and Congress to reach out to the Latino population during the Carter Administration. Major topics covered include inflation, bilingual education, police brutality, political unrest in Latin America, Haitian refugees, and immigration (legal and otherwise), Puerto Rican self-determination, and the U.S. Navy’s use of Vieques Island. This collection also documents some of the important Latino organizations of the time, including LULAC, TELACU, La Raza, the Puerto Rican Legal Defense and Education Fund, the Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund, and the American G.I. Forum.
The ProQuest platform makes hundreds of Full text and A&I (Abstracts & Indexes) collections available to researchers around the world. The ProQuest Platform hosts multidisciplinary content containing scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more.
The backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture. Coverage: 1967-Jan 11, 2018
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the classic version of SciFinder. SciFinder-n provides easy access to information in Chemical Abstracts Services resources: journal citations and abstracts, substance data, chemical reactions, regulatory data, chemical suppliers, and biomedical literature. Before logging in for the first time, you must register for an individual account. If you have already registered for Classic SciFinder, that login should work for SciFinder-n.
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history.
This archive contains articles from the following publications. Text Archives--Tri-City Herald (Kennewick, WA) (2006-Current), Tri-City Herald: Blogs (Kennewick, WA) (2010-2018), Tri-City Herald: Video (Kennewick, WA) (2019-Current) To Play Video, Copy and Paste URL in a Browser Window, Tri-City Herald: Video Transcripts (Kennewick, WA) (2019-Current), Tri-City Herald: Web Edition Articles (Kennewick, WA) (2009-Current); Historical Page Images--Tri-City Herald (1947-2006), Tri-City Herald (Kennewick, WA) (2018-Current)