Skip to Main Content
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Login Help

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Through a selection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. Note: The content in this database can also be found by searching Academic Video Online.
New
Part of Archives Direct, this collection of Foreign Office files explores the history of Persia (Iran), Central Asia, and Afghanistan from the decline of the Silk Road in the first half of the nineteenth century to the establishment of Soviet rule over parts of the region in the early 1920s.
Trial
Access to the full text of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. Subscription also includes DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and the Spanish edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5.
New
A growing collection of open access books from trusted university presses and scholarly publishers. The collection is DRM-free and available on the EBSCOhost platform.
New
Provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, monographs, and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
New
Digital access to older issues of the Ellensburg newspaper the Daily Record with title variations via Google. Coverage: Jan. 9, 1885-Dec. 31, 2005 some editions are not available
New
Full text access to articles in the local Ellensburg newspaper the Daily Record. Coverage: 2000-Present.
New
Search scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Note: The benefit of using Google Scholar via the Library A-Z Databases list is that your search result page provides you direct links to full-text articles in databases subscribed to by the Library.
New
A history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
New
Provides access to music of all regions from every continent. Covers genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
New
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Includes artists such as: Bing Crosby, Buddy Guy, Charlie Parker, Chuck Mangione, Dinah Washington, Diana Krall, Dixie Dregs, Ella Fitzgerald, Etta James, Sonny Rollins, Dizzy Gillespie, Thelonius Monk, and Stan Getz.
New
A continuously expanding collection of hundreds of thousands of tracks of streaming music. Users may browse, search and listen remotely. Music Online: Listening contains the following modules: Classical Music Library, Jazz Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Smithsonian Global Sound, American Music, and Popular Music.
New
Access to a wide range of popular music from around the world, includes tracks from major genres in pop music, such as alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and more. Includes artists such as: Gloria Gaynor, Lou Reed, Iggy Pop, Kool & The Gang, Edith Piaf, Rod Stewart, The Sex Pistols, A Flock of Seagulls, Tanya Tucker, Naughty by Nature, Wu-Tang Clan, Liberace.
New
A comprehensive streaming audio collection of world music. With albums and individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds, this collection includes the published recordings owned by the nonprofit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label together with the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels.
Trial
NewspaperArchive contains more than 15,600 different titles from all 50 US states and dozens of other countries around the world. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword, date, place, and title. The strength of this product is its inclusion of many small town newspapers. Temporary access available through Nov. 14, 2021.
New
Editor and publisher William O. Walker established this newspaper as one of the most influential Black newspapers in Ohio. This historical Black newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1934-1991
New
The oldest and largest Black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African American owned newspaper in the U.S. Coverage: 1934 - 2005
New
Provides primary source material essential to the study of American history and African American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Great Migration and Civil Rights to the election of America’s first Black president. Explore nearly nine decades of everyday life as written from the perspective of this Detroit-based newspaper providing researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. Coverage: 1939-2010.
New
Provides full text access to the oldest continuously published Black newspaper in the U.S. Coverage: 1912-2001.
New
One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights. Coverage: 1911-2010.
New
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more. Coverage: 1838 – 2010
New
Provides access to millions of primary source, cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history. The vast majority of the content in History Vault is not available elsewhere. The content in History Vault is perfect for researchers in history, African American studies, women’s studies, political science, social sciences, sociology, and international studies.
New
The records in this collection from 1940-1948 focus on understanding the modern history of the Middle East, the establishment of Israel as a sovereign state, and the wider web of postwar international world politics.
New
Provides insight into the efforts of the president and Congress to reach out to the Latino population during the Carter Administration. Major topics covered include inflation, bilingual education, police brutality, political unrest in Latin America, Haitian refugees, and immigration (legal and otherwise), Puerto Rican self-determination, and the U.S. Navy’s use of Vieques Island. This collection also documents some of the important Latino organizations of the time, including LULAC, TELACU, La Raza, the Puerto Rican Legal Defense and Education Fund, the Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund, and the American G.I. Forum.
New
Documents the developments and events in the key nations of the world during the period from World War I to the final campaigns of World War II. Contains U.S. Military Intelligence Reports for China, Japan, France, Germany, Italy, Argentina, Mexico, and the Soviet Union, as well as Biweekly Intelligence Summaries for 1928-1938 and Combat Estimates for Europe and the Western Hemisphere.
**Tullis endowment purchase
New
The ProQuest platform makes hundreds of Full text and A&I (Abstracts & Indexes) collections available to researchers around the world. The ProQuest Platform hosts multidisciplinary content containing scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more.
New
The backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture. Coverage: 1967-Jan 11, 2018
New
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the classic version of SciFinder. SciFinder-n provides easy access to information in Chemical Abstracts Services resources: journal citations and abstracts, substance data, chemical reactions, regulatory data, chemical suppliers, and biomedical literature. Before logging in for the first time, you must register for an individual account. If you have already registered for Classic SciFinder, that login should work for SciFinder-n.

First time users must register for an individual account (when registering, use your CWU email address).
New
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history.
New
This archive contains articles from the following publications. Text Archives--Tri-City Herald (Kennewick, WA) (2006-Current), Tri-City Herald: Blogs (Kennewick, WA) (2010-2018), Tri-City Herald: Video (Kennewick, WA) (2019-Current) To Play Video, Copy and Paste URL in a Browser Window, Tri-City Herald: Video Transcripts (Kennewick, WA) (2019-Current), Tri-City Herald: Web Edition Articles (Kennewick, WA) (2009-Current); Historical Page Images--Tri-City Herald (1947-2006), Tri-City Herald (Kennewick, WA) (2018-Current)
Trial
The USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive is a fully streaming video collection of more than 55,000 primary source testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other crimes against humanity. The largest archive of its kind, history is preserved as told by the people who lived it, with each testimony offering unique insight and knowledge rarely available in traditional content. The vast majority of the testimonies contain a complete personal history of life before, during, and after the interviewee’s firsthand experience with genocide.
Note: The Archive requires users to establish a free account for full access.
Temporary access available through Nov. 27, 2021.
New

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a data research platform that provides single-point access to a wide range of datasets across multiple disciplines including finance, accounting, economics, and sustainability.

To access WRDS, you will be asked to enter your cwu.edu email address. WRDS will then send a Day Pass to this address with a link to access the database. Individual Accounts can be requested for longer term access using this link: Register for WRDS. Registration can take 1-3 business days to process. If you already have an account, you can login using this link: WRDS website.

Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...