Full text access to over 110,000 digital books in a wide range of subject areas: History & Political Science, Science & Technology, Social Sciences, Health & Medicine, Law, Business & Economics, Religion & Philosophy, Literature & Language, Arts, and Education. Scholarly titles from high quality publishers including leading university presses, top non-governmental organizations, and leaders in academic publishing.
Search all of CWU's EBSCO databases including: Academic Search Complete, America: History & Life, Art Full Text, Business Source Complete, Criminal Justice Abstracts, Education Full Text, Newswires, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, SPORTDiscus with Full Text, and more.
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine platform that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile devices. Titles range from ARTNews and Discover to popular magazines like Vogue, Wired and the New Yorker and everything in between.
*Download the Flipster app from Google Play or the App Store to browse and read magazines and download issues for offline use. Additional information is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/Flipster/Training_Promotion
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific full text articles within 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields, ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations (the Canadian Psychological Association and the English language publications of the Hogrefe Publishing Group).
PsycINFO is an abstract and index database of more than 3 million resources, covering psychology back to its underpinnings in the 17th Century. Records cover peer-reviewed journals, books, and dissertations and professional coverage goes beyond psychology to include related disciplines such as medicine, law, social work, neuroscience, business, nursing, forensics, engineering, and more.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Contains over 250 plays, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late 19th century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions, musicals, and operas. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play. Note: If using Chrome as your browser you will need the latest version to watch content on this platform.
Showcases a vast collection of popular and lesser-known periodicals published during the interwar period with articles covering arts and culture, fashion, home and family life, travel, world current affairs, class, social and welfare issues as well as a wealth of writing from some of the most prominent literary figures of the era. Includes titles published across Britain, the United States, France and Australia. Includes access to Module 1: 1919-1929.
Kanopy is a streaming video service that provides access to films and documentaries from a variety of independent filmmakers and distributors. Access is limited to those films for which CWU has purchased a license.
Literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present. It brings together all the voices of Latin American women and presents a tool for understanding the diversity and development of Latin America through a feminine perspective.
Poetry, short fiction, novels, and plays by Latino authors. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
Bringing together unique primary sources drawn from world-class maritime archives and heritage collections "Life at Sea" takes a sociocultural approach, focusing on the individual experiences and personal narratives of seafarers. Through a broad range of sources, from journals and memoirs to ships’ logs and court records, the lives of ordinary seamen, merchants, whalers and pirates can be explored. This resource offers exciting new insights into three centuries of the Anglo-American maritime world.
The New York Times Academic Site License program provides Central Washington University students, faculty, and staff with full access to NYTimes.com on any device, on or off campus. Includes New York Times U.S. and international editions, Book Review, Times Magazine, Archives back to 1851, and more. Create an account at the site linked above using your cwu.edu email address. Once you have an account, login to nytimes.com using a browser or download an app.
New York Times Cooking is a cooking guide and diverse recipe collection that helps home cooks discover, save and organize recipes. Enjoy access to The New York Times Cooking, courtesy of CWU Libraries.
ACCESS NOTE: CWU login is required to redeem the access code. Click here to redeem access code and login to your existing New York Times account or create an account using your cwu.edu email address. Once your NYT Cooking subscription is active, login to NYTimes.com/cooking using a browser or download an app.
New York Times Games includes a growing selection of engaging word and visual games that stimulate thinking and engage readers in a healthy habit for mental fitness. The collection includes The Crossword, The Mini Crossword, Spelling Bee, Tiles, Vertex, Wordle, and more. Enjoy access to New York Times Games, courtesy of CWU Libraries.
ACCESS NOTE: CWU login is required to redeem the access code. Click here to redeem access code and login to your existing New York Times account or create an account using your cwu.edu email address. Once your NYT Games subscription is active, login to NYTimes.com/games using a browser or download an app.
Discover the British Film Institute’s Victorian Film Collection and the Mitchell and Kenyon Collection, as well as a selection of special early large format films. This material provides a glimpse into the lives of the late Victorians and Edwardians captured between 1895 and 1913 by some of Britain’s earliest film pioneers and innovators.
This collection focuses on the various uses for water, from hydropower, to agriculture, to drinking water, and how increasing pressures on water supply from climate change exacerbates historical tensions over who has access to water for what purpose. Also accessible via HeinOnline.