Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more from news sources nationwide with America's News. This comprehensive news resource provides access to over 800 American newspapers from national papers to local papers, including the Ellensburg Daily Record, The Wenatchee World, and Yakima Herald-Republic.
Full text access to over 110,000 digital books in a wide range of subject areas: History & Political Science, Science & Technology, Social Sciences, Health & Medicine, Law, Business & Economics, Religion & Philosophy, Literature & Language, Arts, and Education. Scholarly titles from high quality publishers including leading university presses, top non-governmental organizations, and leaders in academic publishing.
Search all of CWU's EBSCO databases including: Academic Search Complete, America: History & Life, Art Full Text, Business Source Complete, Criminal Justice Abstracts, Education Full Text, Newswires, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, SPORTDiscus with Full Text, and more.
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine platform that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile devices. Titles range from ARTNews and Discover to popular magazines like Vogue, Wired and the New Yorker and everything in between.
*Download the Flipster app from Google Play or the App Store to browse and read magazines and download issues for offline use. Additional information is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/Flipster/Training_Promotion
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific full text articles within 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields, ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations (the Canadian Psychological Association and the English language publications of the Hogrefe Publishing Group).
PsycINFO is an abstract and index database of more than 3 million resources, covering psychology back to its underpinnings in the 17th Century. Records cover peer-reviewed journals, books, and dissertations and professional coverage goes beyond psychology to include related disciplines such as medicine, law, social work, neuroscience, business, nursing, forensics, engineering, and more.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Academic Video Online (AVOn) on the Alexander Street (a ProQuest company) platform is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Academic Video Online (AVOn), searchable as part of the ProQuest One Academic database on the ProQuest platform, makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.
Access World News Research Collection is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles, and newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Temporary access available through Dec. 31, 2020.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
The African American Historical Serials Collection features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
This collection provides access to key events in the history of European maritime exploration from c.1420-1920 and features rare manuscript and early printed material, illustrated maps and documents, diaries and ships' logs.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender program module four examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. Includes manuscripts, periodicals and other ephemera dating from the 1820s, with the bulk from 1970–2016.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
Full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
Digitized historical content on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. More than 1,100 digitized historical books, as well as Hispanic newspapers, political and religious pamphlets, and essays. Documents primarily from the 19th and early 20th century. Content is 80% Spanish and 20% English and is searchable in both languages.
Digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, civil rights, religious thought, and growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Contains over 250,000 pages of personal and archival manuscript collections, 3000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals, and hundreds of rare books. Content is drawn from the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.”
Presents more than 15,000 titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions ... The collection includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and other languages besides English, documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era.
Consists of nearly 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923. It presents a comprehensive picture of religion in America at the turn of the century. Subjects addressed include the conflict between religion and science, the growing interest in Eastern religions and other world religions, and significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans.
Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive collection of video and text. Counselling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health students will benefit from this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, documentaries, psychotherapy transcripts, DSM-5/ICD-10 content, as well client narratives and reference works.
S&P Capital IQ is a resource for financial data, analytics, and research. The web-based platform combines deep information on public and private companies, markets, and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. Includes an Excel plug-in for data analysis.
Note: To access users must create an account using their CWU email address.
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) catalog and digital collections includes newspapers, journals, documents, archives and other research materials. CRL makes their collections available to member institutions and offers open access to nearly 10,000 digitized titles published between the 1920s and the early 1960s with an emphasis on materials produced outside the U.S. CWU is not a member.
A comprehensive collection of materials focused on the physical constitution of the earth and its atmosphere as related to modern social movements focused on environmentalism and sustainability that emerged in the late 20th Century. The collection contains articles and reports documenting the rise of the environmental movement, pollution awareness, environmental management, and alternative energy resources.
**Tullis Endowment purchase
A searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
Digital Theatre Plus offers streamed films of leading British theatre productions for educational use in schools, colleges and universities. Each production is supported by additional content, including interviews with the creative and production teams and written study guides. Included are complete, recently filmed stage productions of plays, musicals, and operas from the Royal Shakespeare Company, the Young Vic, and other well-known West End companies and venues.
Documentary Educational Resources (DER) is the premier source for classic and contemporary ethnographic films, which explore modern cultural struggles and artistic traditions and offer a longitudinal view of changing communities, cultures and identities. DER Premium provides the most comprehensive access to the DER streaming collection.
Primary sources from multiple archives that capture the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920. Includes the various colonial frontiers of North America, as well as the settlers of Southern Africa, Australia and New Zealand.
Gale Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for titles of works into one source.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Because Central Washington University Library is a HathiTrust member, when you log in using your institutional login and password, you have access to a larger number of volumes and features. Including the ability to download full volumes of public domain works.
To login to Central Washington University's instance of HathiTrust click on the large yellow "Log In" button. Select "Central Washington University" as your partner institution and click "Continue." Once prompted, login in using your CWU username and password.
Provides full-text access to an extensive collection of modern and historical legal periodicals and monographs including documents on international and foreign jurisdiction, U.S. treaties, U.S Supreme Court, U.S. Attorney General, and more. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
Provides resources on Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims. Content includes decisions, transcripts, docket books, journals of the Indian Claims Commission, and related publications from 1789-present.
JoVe Science Education: Core Biology constitutes a video textbook of basic biology, including: fundamentals, cellular processes, genetics, human biology, ecology, evolution, and plant biology. Each area has several chapters, and each chapter has multiple videos teaching the material.
This collection introduces the field of developmental biology and cover five areas: developmental genetics; molecular developmental biology; stem cell biology; organogenesis; and aging and regeneration.
This collection focuses on genetics and incorporates five broad subdisciplines: the genetics of individuals and populations, genetics and disease, gene expression, epigenetics, and genetic engineering.
This collection provides safety guidelines to be followed when working with hazardous materials and equipment. It covers universal topics such as PPE, electrical safety, and general emergency guidelines, as well as some specific safety procedures for chemistry and biology laboratories.
This collection provides an introduction to the field of neuroscience, exploring five major branches of study: neurophysiology; neuroanatomy; cell and molecular neuroscience; behavioral neuroscience; and developmental neuroscience.
Ken Burns and his collaborators have been creating historical documentary films for more than forty years. Known for a signature style that brings primary source documents, images, and archival video footage to life on screen, these films present the opportunity to pose thought-provoking questions for students, and introduce new ideas, perspectives, and primary sources. Includes lesson plans, media galleries, videos, documents, and images. PBS is providing free access to this collection through the PBS LearningMedia website
Offers users access to more than 700 full-length Met performances, including stunning HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. The site and its content are fully accessible on most mobile devices.
A large, 4-volume digital collection of both in-copyright and public domain editions and manuscripts of music scores, mostly from the classical repertory. Includes works by major and lesser-known composers spanning the Renaissance to the 21st century in full, study, and piano-vocal scores, and piano reductions.
This historical newspaper provides first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time from an African-American perspective. This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1910-1975.
This collection of historical newspapers provides online, easily-searchable, first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of this region.
**Tullis Endowment purchase
Collections from the U.S. National Archives and the Chicago History Museum join first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. Coverage of American Indians in the first half of the 20th century includes Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and Records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. Researchers will also find excellent collections, many previously unpublished, on American Indians in the 19th century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government and Indian tribes.
**Friends of the Library Endowment purchase
Consists of personal papers of African Americans and records of civil rights organizations. Among the collections are: Papers of the Revolutionary Action Movement (RAM); Mary McLeod Bethune Papers; Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs (NACWC); Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference; Bayard Rustin Papers; Claude A. Barnett Papers.
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. Includes an additional subcollection, Periodicals Archive Online Foundation Collection 3, which contains backfiles of significant periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
**Stellingwerf gift purchase
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
**Tullis Endowment purchase
A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries and a range of religions/denominations. Aimed originally at a wide audience, the publications disclose many aspects of the history of popular religious movements. Coverage: 1845-2015.
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more.
**Stellingwerf gift purchase
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Temporary access available through Dec. 31 2020.
A searchable collection of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove. Coverage: 1901-1999.
U.S. News & World Report Magazine Archive includes over 4900 complete full-page issues of U.S. News and World Report (1948-1984) and its three predecessor titles, United States Daily (1926-1933), United States News (1933-1948), and World Report (1946-1948).
Explore and research topics across Washington State. This resource contains news sources from across the state including: the Bellingham Herald, Columbian, Kitsap Sun, News Tribune, The Olympian, Seattle PI, Seattle Times, Spokesman-Review, Tri-City Herald, Yakima Herald-Republic and more. Temporary access available through Dec. 31, 2020.