Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

REM 501 - Introduction to Resource Management

Maps and Geographic Information Collection

A large part of  Government Publication Services is the map collection in Brooks Library. Currently, the collection contains over 90,000 sheet maps for our patron use.  That collection contains nearly every 7.5 minute  topographic map with a goal of having a complete U.S. topographic collection. We also have several 15 minute maps, but do not have a complete collection.

Map Collection

Types of Maps:

  • Topographic maps
    • We hold 7.5 minute maps of the United States in our Map Room collection.  They are filed by state & quadrant name in alphabetical order.  Each state has their own index to the quadrants. You can also find topo maps by the USGS online.  These maps go back to 2008 and many are interactive.
  • Political maps: both domestic and foreign.
  • Geologic & hydrologic maps (many of these maps may be borrowed  for field use; ask the staff for more information)
  • Maps of National Forests & Green Trails 
  • Sanborn Fire Insurance maps on microfilm
  • CIA Political maps (many of these maps may be borrowed  for field use; ask the staff for more information)
  • Soil Survey maps (many of these maps may be borrowed  for field use; ask the staff for more information)
  • National Geographic maps (many of these maps may be borrowed  for field use; ask the staff for more information)

Atlases

The Map Room is also home to many of the Library's atlases.  To provide convenience and ease of use, these often oversized tomes are kept in the Map Room. Most of these atlases may be checked out.  Check with the staff at the 3rd floor service desk.  Atlases are also found in the main book stacks.

Links to maps, mapping tools, and cartographic information

Washington Specific

Locate Geographic Features and Named Places

  • ‚ÄčGEONames Search - This feature-rich website from the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency provides information about geographic place names in multiple languages.
  • Geographic Names Information System [GNIS] - This site from the U.S. Geological Survey has a Basic Query that enables you to search the database for all U.S. geographic features, an Advanced Search that uses additional fields for more complex searches.  This site also enables you to search for features in Antarctica and to search the database for U.S. geographic features using the relevant Census Codes, Class Codes, GSA Codes, and OPM Codes.
  • World Atlas - A general geographic site for base maps and information. Note, this site does not GIS enabled.
  • Geologic Maps of the United States


U.S. Government Agencies Involved with Mapping

 

Part of the archival site from NASA, this site has an excellent explanation of Latitude and Longitude.