CERM505

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.

Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of published ethnographies, seminal texts, memoirs, contemporary studies and archival material covering human culture and behavior around the world.

Index of anthropological material developed by the American Anthropological Association. CWU does not have full text access to articles through Anthrosource. However, we do carry full text (from 2008 on) for some of these journals through the database Wiley Online Library. Use Anthrosource to locate article citations and abstracts, and then search Wiley InterScience or OneSearch

Citations and abstracts for thousands of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from 1743 to the present.

Documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. Contains a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters. **Made possible by a grant from the Pendleton & Elisabeth Carey Miller Charitable Foundation

Electronic collection of material reproduced from rare printed sources held in the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University and the New York Public Library. The material reflects 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues in the United States, including religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.

Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century. Content has been sourced from both American and Canadian institutions and has received direct-from-source permission to digitize newspapers from various tribes and organizations. This archive also features indigenous language materials, including dictionaries, religious texts, and primers. Indigenous Peoples of North America is available in two parts. Part I: This collection comprehensively covers the history of North American indigenous peoples and supporting organizations, enabling intelligent inquiry into the culture and heritage of more than seventy tribes within the United States and Canada. Part II: The Indian Rights Association, 1882-1986, provides a near complete record of the efforts of the first organization to address Native American interests and rights. This collection includes incoming and outgoing correspondence, organizational records, and printed material produced by the Indian Rights Association and other American Indian and Indian rights-related organizations.

ScienceDirect is Elsevier’s platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. It contains indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents for over 2,500 journals and over 35,000 ebooks. Full text access is available for those titles to which CWU subscribes.

Full text content from the publications of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully covers major journals across 178 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Coverage: 1995-present