The Executive BranchThe Legislative BranchThe Court System
Local Government Information
Online Maps
Case Law ResourcesStatute Law
This is the "Home" page of the "Government Publications, Maps, and Microforms" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Publications, Maps, and Microforms  

From the Cascades to the Columbia, and from border to border, Government Publications, Maps & Microforms provides access to a wealth of information on a multitude of topics unlike any collection in the Central Region of the state.
Last Updated: Jun 12, 2015 URL: http://libguides.lib.cwu.edu/governmentpublications Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hours

ACADEMIC YEAR

  8:00AM-9:00PM   Monday - Thursday
  8:00AM-6:00PM   Friday
11:00AM-5:00PM   Saturday
  1:00PM-9:00PM   Sunday

INTERSESSION

  8:00AM-5:00PM   Monday - Friday

 

Location

The Government Publications, Maps, & Microforms (GovPub) Department is located on the Third Floor of the James E. Brooks Library.  You can browse the collection whenever the library is open.  Assistance with using our diverse collections is available at the Public Service Desk.

 

Contact Information

Michele Reilly
      Assoc. Dean & Dept. Head
      509-963-2117
      reillym@cwu


      Government Docs Librarian
      509-963-
      @cwu.edu

Carlos Diaz
      Maps
      509-963-1545
      diazc@cwu.edu

John Streepy
      Microforms
      509-963-2862
      streepyj@cwu.edu

 

Mission

From the crest of the snow covered Cascades to the banks of the mighty Columbia, from Oregon in the south to our northern neighbor Canada, Government Publications, Maps & Microforms provides access to a wealth of information for the citizens of the State of Washington unlike any collection in the Central Region of the state. A boon to our University patrons as well as any who come to seek out information on multitudes of topics.

 

About

The James E. Brooks Library is a Congressionally Designated Depository Library for U.S. Government documents.  Public access to the Government Documents collection is guaranteed by public law (Title 44 United States Code).  We have been an official depository for U.S. Government publications since 1962, and a full depository for Washington State government publications since 1965.

We currently receive physical copies of, and/or links to, about 34% of the publications that the GPO distributes and 100% that the Washington State Library has available We have also purchased historic sets in microformats and have received many government publications as gifts.  The legislative resources in our collection date back to 1790.

Formats:

  • Document sizes can range from 1-page pamphlets to large sets of Compact Disks.
  • Documents collections include books, periodicals, maps, leaflets, photographs, digital files, posters, and more.
  • Information may be available on paper, microfiche, disk, CD-ROM, DVD-ROM, video, or online.

Call Numbers:

  • Federal Government Documents use SuDoc Numbers that are arranged by the Governmental agency that published the item, rather than the subject of the published work.  
  • Washington State Government Documents call numbers begin with WA, followed by letters indicating the publishing agency.
  • Maps may use SuDoc, Library of Congress, and Accession call numbers
  • Microform call numbers can begin with
    • MM-(microfilm, denoting reels of 35 mm film usually used for microimages of newspapers and journals, but also historical papers);
    • MH-(microfiche, denoting thin sheets of plastic printed with micro images of books and journals);
      • Some microfilm can be listed with a SuDoc number indicating it is a US gov't document.
    • MP-(microprint, denoting sheet of paper printed with images the same size as microfiche) 

Circulation:

  • Circulation of government documents is usually for 21 days, and are checked out at circulation on the first floor.  
  • Maps & Microforms may not be checked out, but they may be copied.
  • Most of our collection is already listed in Cattrax, but occasionally items will need to be entered into the system at the GovPubMM Service Desk (east of the elevator on the 3rd floor) before they can be checked out at the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor.
  • A few documents, such as rare or fragile publications, reference works, and microforms, may only be used in the building.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip