SOC 363 - Methods in Social Research

This guide is designed to help you with choosing a topic and getting started with library research. Use the column on the left to navigate the guide. If you have further questions about library resources, please reach out to a librarian by scheduling an appointment or connecting with CWU Libraries.

New Subscriptions for Sociology

Policy Map Online data and mapping application that gives access to indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Geography available differs by source. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.

Behavioral & Mental Health Online Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive collection of video and text. Counselling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health students will benefit from this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, documentaries, psychotherapy transcripts, DSM-5/ICD-10 content, as well client narratives and reference works.

Race Relations in America documents three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, and contains speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Race Relations Department of Fisk University including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall. *Tullis fund purchase

African American Communities presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Also featured is a rich selection of visual material, including photographs, maps and ephemera.  Key themes covered include:

• Desegregation – focusing on schools, hospitals, transport and other areas of public life. Documents show legal battles and campaigns in favor of integration and public reaction.
• Urban renewal and housing problems – featuring papers on housing and race relations, planning records and papers of neighborhood councils.
• Civil rights activities and protests – material on Atlanta’s police department and Chicago riots.
• Race relations and community integration – featuring documents charting increased African American home ownership in Chicago.
• African American culture – documents showcasing the life and culture of African Americans in Brooklyn from the Weeksville Heritage Center.

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1  Digitized historical content on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. More than 1,100 digitized historical books, as well as Hispanic newspapers, political and religious pamphlets, and essays. Documents primarily from the 19th and early 20th century. Content is 80% Spanish and 20% English and is searchable in both languages.

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2  Digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, civil rights, religious thought, and growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Contains over 250,000 pages of personal and archival manuscript collections, 3000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals,