History, Trans-Mississippi American West

Check with the Government Publications, Maps, and Microforms department on the third floor of Brooks Library to find local, national, and international newspapers on microfilm. Example titles include the San Francisco Examiner (1902-1917), the Seattle Times (1889-1891, 1895-1896, 1966-2011), the Los Angeles Times (1886-1952), the Pendleton Republican (1897-1900), the Morning Oregonian (1861-1955), the Yakima Herald-Republic (1903-2011), the Miner-Echo (1922-1960), and the Ellensburg Daily Record (1938-2005).

Covers the 1850s to 1920s.

Covers 1846-1922

Covers 1859-1923

This site provides access to American newspapers dating from 1836 to 1922. It also provides information about American newspapers published between 1690 and the present.

Google offers runs from a variety of newspapers. Some are full-text and some are abstracts only.

English and Spanish language newspapers from Arizona, California, Texas, and Mexico. Includes a number of newspapers from Tucson and the University of Arizona.

Covers 1846-1922

This website makes available newspapers from across Washington state, circa 1852-1892.

Bowling Green provides this thorough listing of American newspapers available online. Newspapers are organized by state.

Copies of CWU's student newspaper are available from 1917 to 2000

This site provides access to 12,280 pages of Texas newspaper pages that date as early at 1829.

Includes over 1,000,000 pages of historic Utah newspapers, which can be searched by issue, keyword, article title, weddings, deaths, or births.

For Sitka, Alaska.