Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Login Help

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
New
The African American Historical Serials Collection features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
New
Digitized historical content on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. More than 1,100 digitized historical books, as well as Hispanic newspapers, political and religious pamphlets, and essays. Documents primarily from the 19th and early 20th century. Content is 80% Spanish and 20% English and is searchable in both languages.
New
Digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, civil rights, religious thought, and growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Contains over 250,000 pages of personal and archival manuscript collections, 3000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals, and hundreds of rare books. Content is drawn from the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.”
New
Presents more than 15,000 titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions ... The collection includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and other languages besides English, documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era.
New
Consists of nearly 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923. It presents a comprehensive picture of religion in America at the turn of the century. Subjects addressed include the conflict between religion and science, the growing interest in Eastern religions and other world religions, and significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans.
New
Full text archive of The Atlantic Magazine from 1857-2014.
New
Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive collection of video and text. Counselling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health students will benefit from this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, documentaries, psychotherapy transcripts, DSM-5/ICD-10 content, as well client narratives and reference works.
Trial
Description: The Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert hall provides more than 40 live concerts per season. In addition, there is access to archived performances, as well as interviews and documentaries.

Note: CWU users must register on campus (within the institutional IP range) to create an account. Once activated, the account may be used off-campus.
New
Full text archive of Bloomberg Businessweek magazine from 1929-2000.
New
A comprehensive collection of materials focused on the physical constitution of the earth and its atmosphere as related to modern social movements focused on environmentalism and sustainability that emerged in the late 20th Century. The collection contains articles and reports documenting the rise of the environmental movement, pollution awareness, environmental management, and alternative energy resources.
New
A searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
Trial
Full text database of more than 1,800 Korean scholarly journals in various disciplines. Most journals are covered from the first issue.
New
Provides full text, digital images of books, pamphlets, broadsides and periodicals published in America from 1639-1800.
New
Full text archive of Forbes magazine from 1917-2000.
New
Full text archive of Fortune magazine from 1930-2000.
New
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Because Central Washington University Library is a HathiTrust member, when you log in using your institutional login and password, you have access to a larger number of volumes and features. Including the ability to download full volumes of public domain works.

To login to Central Washington University's instance of HathiTrust click on the large yellow "Log In" button. Select "Central Washington University" as your partner institution and click "Continue." Once prompted, login in using your CWU username and password.
New
Provides full-text access to an extensive collection of modern and historical legal periodicals and monographs including documents on international and foreign jurisdiction, U.S. treaties, U.S Supreme Court, U.S. Attorney General, and more. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
New
Extensive full-text collection of Spanish-language and bilingual newspapers printed across the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
New
The National Film Board (NFB) of Canada has compiled 200 indigenous-made films and made them accessible by online streaming free of charge. Films can be searched by title, director or subject.
Trial
Searchable database of Korean primary sources, including many reference works such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, historical and archival resources, biographical sources and other reference materials related to Korean history, literature, civilization and medicine.
Trial
Research guides combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. Included subject areas: Art History, Cinema and Media Studies, Criminology, Education, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Management, Psychology, and Social Work.
New
This collection of historical newspapers provides online, easily-searchable, first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of this region.
New
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
New
Full text archive of Time magazine from 1923-2000.
New
U.S. News & World Report Magazine Archive includes over 4900 complete full-page issues of U.S. News and World Report (1948-1984) and its three predecessor titles, United States Daily (1926-1933), United States News (1933-1948), and World Report (1946-1948).
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...